Guy Approved Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
My husband loves meatloaf, so I wasn't really excited to try this recipe. I didn't tell him about the ingredients that give it such a good barbeque taste (one of his favorites), so it was funny to see his face light up when he took a bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lehcsarhrtattack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I have made this recipe several times since receiving it in an email only two weeks ago. So far...RAVE reviews. Everyone loves this. My niece asked me to make this for her birthday INSTEAD of the cake!!! By far and away the best meatloaf ever. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
great flavor! i didnt use the crushed potato chips (didnt have any) so i used a full cup of cracker crumbs and i put more bbq sauce on top under the bacon--- very yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I'm a meatloaf lover and this is now my very favorite. I made it exactly as directed and it was perfect. The flavor is smokey with a mild taste of barbecue. I used ground chuck that was very lean but next time I will place the meatloaf on a raised rack so the grease can drip away. I will make this many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Kight

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westernport, Maryland, USA
Living In: Keyser, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This is the BEST meatloaf ever!! YUMMY! I made exactly as recipe states except for seasoned breadcrumbs instead of crackers and put BBQ sauce under bacon. One hour cooktime was perfect. This is my new #1 meatloaf recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Made it AS WRITTEN. I am a BIG meatloaf and BBQ fan so I was disappointed in the results. Mine came out a bit mushy. It is possible I used a bit more than 1.5 pounds of ground meat since I was using two packages we had in the freezer. We might not have divided up the packages exactly evenly so it's possible I used closer to 2 pounds of meat. I don't know if that would have made such a difference or not. The texture wasn't horribly bad but it didn't hold together the way my wife's recipe does--hers is more 'solid'. The main problem was the taste. I suppose the brand of BBQ sauce might have an effect of the taste but we just didn't like it. I cooked it covered for 1/2 of the time and then took the foil off for the last half so the bacon crisped up nicely. That was a really good part of the recipe--we have never tried putting bacon on a meatloaf before. I think we will keep the bacon idea and go back to my wife's recipe. Thanks for posting though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Levelland, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
One of the best meafloaf I've made in a long time. The bacon really adds some nice smoky flavor. I used bbq ptato chips to enhance the flavor and this turned out great. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This was excellent. I have never had meatloaf with bacon on it. Gave it a really good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
You have to try this recipe! I was a little unsure at first, but it turns out maaarvelous, darling! I used bbq kettle cooked chips so they were extra crunchy to start with. I also reduced the smoke flavoring by half bc I wasn't sure how potent the taste would be. Other than that, I kept everything the same. It was a huge hit around the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This just replaced our favorite meatloaf recipe. OMG, this was excellent. I didn't find any of the flavors overpowering (I did use a bit less liquid smoke but otherwise followed recipe). Did need to uncover and put on top rack of oven for the last half hour to thoroughly cook bacon. I was concerned it would dry out---not at all, and the crispy ends were everyone's favorite part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States