Gurkensalat (German Cucumber Salad) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
This recipe is one of my husbands favorites! He would be happy if I served it to him with every meal. I also add fresh garlic to this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
My grandparents were German and my grandmother used to make this salad with white vinegar, dill, sugar, a little water, salt and pepper and a tiny bit of vegetable oil. It was delicious but this recipe is awesome. From now on I will make this recipe, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Very good and refreshing! I used white wine vinegar. My onions added their own touch of sweetness. I cut back on the paprika, but later noticed that by mistake I mixed it in instead of garnishing with it. Oh well, it was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spunky Buddy
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Cucumber salads tend to be somewhat the same. With this recipe I was interested in the impact the addition of paprika would have on the taste. I made it per the instructions but left out the sugar because I don't like it sweet. In spite of not adding the sugar it seemed the paprika did add some sweetness of its own. I enjoyed this immensely and would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spunky Buddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Very authentic and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Wow my mom was German and I grew up on this! So happy to find this recipe as it appears to be the one Mom used. Really good and I agree that it is best if allowed to marinate a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Panucci

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This was a good basic recipe but was way sweeter than the gurkensalat my Bavarian mom would make. Next time I'll cut back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I used baby cucumbers and green onions. This had a weird texture to me. I made this early in the day and at serving time, drained most of the liquid out before stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This is kind of like what we serve at the German restaurant I work in. I don't like the addition of paprika, and we let our cucumbers cure for quite a bit longer than half an hour. I'll stick with our recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marenez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fort Stewart, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I wish my German grandmother would have made this. I might have eaten more cucumbers! It's a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States