Gurkensalat (German Cucumber Salad) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
My Grandma always made a cuke and sour cream salad similar to this. Fond memories...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
My mom always made a salad like this. (she was from Germany). I've been making it too, but with parsley and chives and a tiny dab of yellow mustard. It's a nice and refeshing summer salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kmdw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Gott im Himmel!! Without digging out my old recipe book, I sure this is the same recipe we got from our German Grandmother Gertrude! Born in the late 1880's and died 1959! When the season was right, she added fresh dill. I have added crushed fennel seed to give it another taste sensation. I have saved this recipe and will be comparing it to mine, but I'm sure this is about the same!! ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
We must all have the same German grandma. I have been eating this salad for years. It is one of my favorites. Grandma used chives instead of dill and she also smashed a clove of garlic and added it with the onions, cucumbers and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stjchurchcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
iam german and i love it has a great flavor thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gadgetgal
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I enjoyed the flavor of the cucumbers very much ~ they were so different from most marinated cucumber salads I've tasted. However I found the texture to be oddly mushy. Followed the recipe to a T, squeezing out excess moisture from cukes and refrigerating overnight. Next day the onions were dismally limp 'strings' so much so that I just fished them all out. The cucmbers were just too mushy. I would really like to skip rating stars on this because it's probably unfair, given I haven't tasted German marinated cukes before and maybe this is how they're supposed to be. However the AllRecipes system doesn't allow me to post comments without assigning stars, so trying my best to be fair I will rate this a 3 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gadgetgal

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I am German, and this tastes very authentic. Thank you! Make sure to slice the cucumbers very thinly, for example, with a grater. If you want a German bean salad, all you have to do is substitute canned beans for the cucumbers, and add some onions. Tastes good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Düsseldorf, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I honestly liked this but my family gave it a thumbs down. I used rice vinegar and fresh dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
This was an excellent dish. I could not wait the 8 hours to try it. Once I mixed everything together I ate the whole bowl to myself. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Doesn't have much flavor, it gets better though as it sits in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States