Gurkensalat (German Cucumber Salad) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I've never had this before, but made it for my daughter's class for their Germany Day event. Overall, I don't think the kids liked it, but my husband and I enjoyed the leftovers. I would definitely make this again in the summer when we have an abundance of cucumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This recipe tastes exactly like what you'd get in Germany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
This is the recipe that I have been looking for. My parents were stationed in Wiesbaden Germany years ago, and my mother who loves to cook befriended a local german woman and the soon exchanged recipes. THIS cucumber salad better known as Gurkensalat is the CLOSEST I have been able to come to recreating it.. THIS is a MOST LOVED dish.. I don't know if this is the exact way my mother and Petra made this wonderful dish, but if it isn't I couldn't tell. THANK you for posting this and taking me back to my days (years) in Germany with my mother and a wonderful lady named Petra. I STRONGLY ADVISE all who try this recipe to follow exactly DO NOT add or take away.. AND PLEASE let it chill overnight for best result. IF I could give more than 5 stars I WOULD.... I am huge fan of German food and this dish is spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Love this recipe and I agree with shineah make sure to slice cucumber thinly. Also instead of white vinegar I've always used Heinz salad vinegar, my family likes the taste better than white vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Just like my mom used to make. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Just like Oma used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardenia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
My recipe is just for the dressing (minus the parsley), which I cut down and used on a salad of lettuce and onion. It was the perfect thing to go with pork paprikash. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Doesn't have much flavor, it gets better though as it sits in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
This was an excellent dish. I could not wait the 8 hours to try it. Once I mixed everything together I ate the whole bowl to myself. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I honestly liked this but my family gave it a thumbs down. I used rice vinegar and fresh dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States