Gunline Coffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I thought this would be a little more chocolate-y and a little creamier (I suppose I'm a bit of a dreamer), but I seem to find a reason to drink it everyday, so I think I like it-I add additional cream to it after I make it and that is the taste I'm looking for. I have a cup everyday after work while I read the paper. Good stuff- Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Pretty yummy, although a little heavily spiced for me, so I cut down on the nutmeg by half and the cinnamon bit a tiny bit. I also cut down the sugar by a half a cup (don't forget the hot chocolate has sugar too). I used decaffinated instant coffee so I wouldn't have to worry about drinking it before bed, and I've tested a few different types of hot chocolate now, and Swiss Miss and Goodiva (about the same) are the best. Cadbury was so/so. Suprisingly the Goodiva wasn't much chocolatier. I was looking for Ghiradelli but couldn't find just their drinking cocoa. My boyfriend loved it too so I made him his own container. Great for the upcoming winter months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This is great coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Mackey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
We called this "Fireside Coffee" because of ease for use when camping. I added 1/2 cup powdered sugar and decreased white sugar to 1 cup. I also used 1/2 cup cinnamon flavored hot cocoa mix and 1 cup regular hot cocoa mix. Add a little coffeemate hazlenut creamer or any flavor you prefer and its delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
oh my god this is amazing but i used decaf coffee and splenda because we drink this at night....also try it with a little kaluha.....ha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pickering, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
very good, I used french vanilla creamer and only one cup of the sugar, marvelous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
This was really good. I loved it as is, but adding flavoured creamers is nice as well. I liked using the vanilla coffee mate as well as the plain. I really like this! Thanks for the great recipe and I really like the name as well...way to go Catwalk's Husband!! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
I thought this was a bit strange at first, but I ended up quite enjoying it. I used Splenda instead of sugar. Not bad at all. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
It wasn't exactly what I thought it would be, but it was ok. It will do nicely for a quick pick-me-up before heading into work. I dribbled a tiny amount of vanilla in it which I thought made it better. Thanks for the coffee-on-the-go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
The only thing I would do differently is use less sugar. That's a personal thing. I and my fiance just love to sit down to a cup of this stuff. He went out and bought all the ingredients and had the mix made by the time I got home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gunline Coffee

This winter coffee mixture features hot cocoa mix and holiday seasonings.

How to Make Cold Brew Coffee

See how to make coffee concentrate for a hot or cold beverage.

Coconut Oil Coffee

Coconut oil and butter launch freshly brewed coffee into the flavor stratosphere.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States