Gunline Coffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This was tasty. Next time, if I was making a batch for myself, I'd probably cut down on the sweetener (I used Splenda), but that's a personal thing. My younger brother loved this as is. It's very comforting on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Thanks for a great new recipe for me. Better than my old "cocoa mix" recipe. I put the instant coffee (decaf for us) in the food processor first-it incorporates better into the mix. Then I added all the other ingredients to the food processor. It was ready in less than 5 minutes. My husband loved it so much, he now leaves a large container at his office, and I do not have to make him coffee in the am anymore! I put this mix into cute jars from the dollar store, added cute fabric bags for wrapping, put on a label with instuctions (I called it Mocha coffee mix) and gave it to all of my children's teachers as Christmas gifts!! I intend to try it again with flavored creamers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I thought this would be a little more chocolate-y and a little creamier (I suppose I'm a bit of a dreamer), but I seem to find a reason to drink it everyday, so I think I like it-I add additional cream to it after I make it and that is the taste I'm looking for. I have a cup everyday after work while I read the paper. Good stuff- Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Pretty yummy, although a little heavily spiced for me, so I cut down on the nutmeg by half and the cinnamon bit a tiny bit. I also cut down the sugar by a half a cup (don't forget the hot chocolate has sugar too). I used decaffinated instant coffee so I wouldn't have to worry about drinking it before bed, and I've tested a few different types of hot chocolate now, and Swiss Miss and Goodiva (about the same) are the best. Cadbury was so/so. Suprisingly the Goodiva wasn't much chocolatier. I was looking for Ghiradelli but couldn't find just their drinking cocoa. My boyfriend loved it too so I made him his own container. Great for the upcoming winter months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This is great coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
We called this "Fireside Coffee" because of ease for use when camping. I added 1/2 cup powdered sugar and decreased white sugar to 1 cup. I also used 1/2 cup cinnamon flavored hot cocoa mix and 1 cup regular hot cocoa mix. Add a little coffeemate hazlenut creamer or any flavor you prefer and its delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
oh my god this is amazing but i used decaf coffee and splenda because we drink this at night....also try it with a little kaluha.....ha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pickering, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
very good, I used french vanilla creamer and only one cup of the sugar, marvelous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
This was really good. I loved it as is, but adding flavoured creamers is nice as well. I liked using the vanilla coffee mate as well as the plain. I really like this! Thanks for the great recipe and I really like the name as well...way to go Catwalk's Husband!! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
I thought this was a bit strange at first, but I ended up quite enjoying it. I used Splenda instead of sugar. Not bad at all. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gunline Coffee

This winter coffee mixture features hot cocoa mix and holiday seasonings.

How to Make Cold Brew Coffee

See how to make coffee concentrate for a hot or cold beverage.

How to Make Pour-Over Coffee

Enjoy freshly-brewed coffee, one delicious cup at a time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States