Gunline Coffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I was looking for drink mixes to send in a care package to my deployed sister and this came highly recommended from the recipe exchange. I count resist trying some and I must agree it tastes A LOT like a Mocha Frappuccino. I only had half of the hot chocolate mix so I added some extra creamer and sugar. It was still good but I cant wait to make it when I can use all the chocolate mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Delicious! warming and tastes almost like a mocha frappachino. love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akahrl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
MMmm, tasty. I made a sugar free version of this, using sugar free cocoa mix and Splenda. I also used fat free dry milk instead of the non-dairy creamer, as that's what I had. I find the coffee flavor to be quite strong, but that's probably because I'm not a huge coffee fan. The spicing, however is great. I also added a dash of cloves. Yum. A bit of portion math reveals that this recipe makes approximately 36 servings, not 80 (80 would be about 1 heaping tbsp per serving). Even so, my sugar free version comes out to 32 calories a serving! Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This is fantastic! I used Splenda in place of sugar, Swiss Miss no sugar added cocoa. The instant coffee I got (Taster's Choice) was really coarse, so I put that, the spices, and the Splenda in the blender and gave it all a whirl so it would all be as fine as the cocoa. Sipping a cup now, and it's really good. Not too sweet, not too strong. Will try again with other flavored creamers to see what that's like. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! Update: Just in case anyone is wondering... about 11 packets of cocoa is 1 1/2 cups, since that's all I had to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Are you seeking a smooth, tasty mocha/coffee mix? SEEK NO MORE. :) I have made several batchs of Gunline Coffee for home use and for coworkers to enjoy on the job. Everyone enjoys it tremendously! Cinnamon or peppermint flavored creamers are a nice change of pace, but this yummy recipe can stand on its own "as is." Thank you CATWALK and to your husband! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I used french vanilla creamer because I am trying to get rid of it. After I bought it, my husband decided he is not a huge fan of it anymore. I imagine this is probably better with regular flavor creamer. More coffee flavor would come through. I used splenda and sugar free instant hot chocolate. I started with 1/2 the cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg and I am glad I did or it would have been too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This is so good! I am making this for Christmas gift baskets and we've enjoyed sampling it. Rich and creamy and so good on a cold morning or anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This was a fun Christmas basket addition. The flavor is good and it couldn't be easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetPea
Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: O Fallon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by whodunitrdr
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Very nice, I liked the hint of spice in it. I made a half batch and since my instant coffee was the kind with the bigger crystals, I buzzed the whole batch in the food processor for a second. Now it is a smooth mix and I can easily measure it out for a cup. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whodunitrdr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Photo by Gracey
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
It was ok. And I agree with another reviewer on this. It is not a love-at-first-site recipe, but it might be a sweet addiction for you...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gunline Coffee

This winter coffee mixture features hot cocoa mix and holiday seasonings.

How to Make Cold Brew Coffee

See how to make coffee concentrate for a hot or cold beverage.

Coconut Oil Coffee

Coconut oil and butter launch freshly brewed coffee into the flavor stratosphere.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States