Gunline Coffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Okay, I must say that having been a barista for several years, I am a bit of a coffee snob. As such- instant coffee is a big no-no. Plus I like my coffee black...nothing at all in it, or I have no interest. Still, I was thinking about making this to give as gifts with my baked goodies, so I wanted to try it for myself first. And I am glad I did, because it is amazing! So perfect after a long and chilly day. I am totally hooked! In anticipation of not really caring for it, I bought the cheapest instant coffee, hot chocolate mix and creamer I could find, and it is STILL incredible. Not only will I be putting this in my holiday gift baskets, I will be making it for myself and my daughter (a Starbucks fanatic) to enjoy throughout the winter. Thanks for a terrific recipe CATWALK16 :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Loved it, wanted something other than regular coffee, but cheaper and this is definitely it. The cinnamon and the nutmeg make it taste like the coffee you get at coffee shops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I haven't made it, but it is such a good idea! You could send this to your friends deployed overseas for Christmas! and you could switch it up, make it chocolatey, or i dunno.. cherry..? anyways! great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This has become my morning staple! My husband always has fresh coffee in the morning, so I left out the instant for myself and bought Rolo hot chocolate for fun! With fresh coffee I find I only need 1 heaping tsp with a splash of milk, but this is REALLY great to wake up too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I didn't know how this would turn out with the spices but it is really delicious. I used powdered skimmed milk instead of the non dairy coffee creamer and good quality chocolate (at least 32% cocoa). For a coffee this is great, however I am more of a chocolate drinker so I tried adding more chocolate and less coffee and it turned out even better for my taste. I tried this recipe with regular quality chocolate mix (20% cocoa) as well and the taste is very different, more bland. so I recommend the use of good chocolate because it boosts all the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Good, but if I'm in the mood for a spicy hot drink, Chai Tea usually wins out. I think I would like this better with less cinnamon and nutmeg- personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
yum! made 1 cup this morning to test it out before putting into gift sacks...I am going to make another batch just for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALMEMOORE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I made this today exactly as written with one exception- I blended the mixture until the particle size was consistent. It is delicious. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Delicious! Headed camping this weekend and found this recipe. I liked it better than my morning coffee. I am already addicted after 1 cup. I added a scoop a cocoa powder. Yummmmm. Can't wait for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
To die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gunline Coffee

This winter coffee mixture features hot cocoa mix and holiday seasonings.

How to Make Cold Brew Coffee

See how to make coffee concentrate for a hot or cold beverage.

Coconut Oil Coffee

Coconut oil and butter launch freshly brewed coffee into the flavor stratosphere.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States