Gumbo Style Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight. After reading all the reviews over the last few days, I made my adjustments. I used half the butter(not oil) and flour which I used when sauteeing the onions, peppers, garlic, and sausage. Because I used only 2 tablespoons of flour, there was no need to add any chicken stock. I added 1/4 tsp. of chili powder, Creole seasoning, and ground thyme. I cut the Worcestershire and soy sauces and salt in half. I did not add sugar or Tabasco. I simmered the pot of all ingredients for 30 minutes while I made the white rice. When I initially tasted the juice, it didn't seem to be spicy enough. However, after 30 minutes, the flavor and spice were perfect! My husband and I loved this dish. I'm the more critical of eaters. I wouldn't change a thing I did. We have leftovers for one more bowl apiece. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Novick Feuille

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight without reading any reviews first. That's something I don't usually do, but I was running late, and it looked good and easy enough. It was delicious! I did use butter instead of oil with the flour. I think it makes for a tastier dish, and I also added a couple of cups of chicken broth because it was way too thick. After simmering for about a half hour, covered, it was perfect. Will definitely make again when I have more time, add some sausage and shrimp and more spice for a company-worthy main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I absolutely loved this recipe. I was borned and raised in LA and this is really close to home. I only added some thyme, Zatarain's creole seasoning, sausage, and crushed red pepper because I like a lil kick to mine. I also felt it wasn't enough salt and pepper so I added more of those as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
followed the recommendations such as using one and a half cup chicken broth,omitting the mushrooms although next time I will add them as I think it would go well. I also pre cooked the lentils. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This was a hearty dish that was rich in flavor. We enjoyed having this tonight. There are a couple of changes I made that were great suggestions from other reviewers. ½ tsp of dried thyme was used and instead of a few dashes of hot sauce, I used ¼ tsp cayenne pepper. This brought a delightful warmth. Because I served it with rice, I wanted more of a saucy element. I felt 1 ½ cups of chicken stock went well here. This was very filling and pleasing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This is a keeper. Replaced the tinned mushrooms with fresh ones and added1/2 a tin of mushroom soup. Did not have diced tomatos with chiles just regular diced tomatos so I added a chopped jalopeno (seeds and all)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zswanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I really loved this recipe. It is easy to make with easy ingredients. It was quite tasty. I did make a few alterations with more hot sauce and salt but it had just the right amount of spice with the chicken absorbed in the tomatoes. Yum!!!! Kudos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Theintern

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Made this with a few alterations and it turned out AMAZING! Made the roux with butter and brown rice flour because I was out of all-purpose flour. The roux took about 3 minutes to change colour. Next I added a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes instead of 14 oz and 2 cups of water with 1 chicken bouillon. The reason I added more liquid is because I used uncooked chicken thighs instead of cooked chicken breast because that's what I had in my fridge. I cooked the chicken in the liquid for about 50 mins covered and on medium-low, just about all the extra liquid evaporated during the cooking process. Once the chicken was cooked I took it off the bones (it literally fell off the bones). Oh I also used a whole green chile pepper and added 1 tsp of cayenne. The spice was perfect for my family! I omitted the mushrooms and added half a Portuguese sausage. Everyone loved it and it tasted even better the next day. I think next time I will used white meat to cut back on the fat. Overall, dinner was a great success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This is a very good recipe. I took the advice of some of the other reviews and added 1 cup of chicken broth and fresh mushrooms. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States