Gumbo Style Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
followed the recommendations such as using one and a half cup chicken broth,omitting the mushrooms although next time I will add them as I think it would go well. I also pre cooked the lentils. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This was a hearty dish that was rich in flavor. We enjoyed having this tonight. There are a couple of changes I made that were great suggestions from other reviewers. ½ tsp of dried thyme was used and instead of a few dashes of hot sauce, I used ¼ tsp cayenne pepper. This brought a delightful warmth. Because I served it with rice, I wanted more of a saucy element. I felt 1 ½ cups of chicken stock went well here. This was very filling and pleasing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This is a keeper. Replaced the tinned mushrooms with fresh ones and added1/2 a tin of mushroom soup. Did not have diced tomatos with chiles just regular diced tomatos so I added a chopped jalopeno (seeds and all)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zswanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I really loved this recipe. It is easy to make with easy ingredients. It was quite tasty. I did make a few alterations with more hot sauce and salt but it had just the right amount of spice with the chicken absorbed in the tomatoes. Yum!!!! Kudos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Theintern

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Made this with a few alterations and it turned out AMAZING! Made the roux with butter and brown rice flour because I was out of all-purpose flour. The roux took about 3 minutes to change colour. Next I added a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes instead of 14 oz and 2 cups of water with 1 chicken bouillon. The reason I added more liquid is because I used uncooked chicken thighs instead of cooked chicken breast because that's what I had in my fridge. I cooked the chicken in the liquid for about 50 mins covered and on medium-low, just about all the extra liquid evaporated during the cooking process. Once the chicken was cooked I took it off the bones (it literally fell off the bones). Oh I also used a whole green chile pepper and added 1 tsp of cayenne. The spice was perfect for my family! I omitted the mushrooms and added half a Portuguese sausage. Everyone loved it and it tasted even better the next day. I think next time I will used white meat to cut back on the fat. Overall, dinner was a great success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This is a very good recipe. I took the advice of some of the other reviews and added 1 cup of chicken broth and fresh mushrooms. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Excellent. Added some turkey sausage for the heck of it and chicken broth. Delish thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Maybe it's just me, but I was always raised that you can't cook cajun or creole without the trinity/mirepoix- onion, celery, and bell pepper. In my opinion it would be top notch with the addition of the celery and the adding in some dried thyme and cajun or creole seasoning. I think the last just adds nice needed kick to the spices of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Overall, I like this recipe but with several alterations. We like garlic, so we used 8 cloves of garlic and to make it gluten-free, we used brown rice flour. We added chopped celery, 1 1/2 cups chix broth, and increased the tomatoes to 2 cans (next time will try to find Cajun Style Stewed Tomatoes). Added 1 \+ cup sliced Andoullie sausage, 1+ cup small cooked shrimp, and 1 bag frozen okra. Used fresh mushrooms instead of canned and cooked them with the onion and green pepper. It turned into a very substantial quick gumbo. Will definitely make it again with the Cajun tomatoes and probably add a bay leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States