Gumbo Style Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
We actually made a few changes to this receipie which gave it a real nice kick. To make it a bit more soup-like we added 2 cups of chicken stock. We also added kielbasa (chirozo would work as well!), and threw in a few more spicies because we like it flavorful and spicy. This turned out to be one of our favorites, and we'll definitly be using it more in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: White Salmon, Washington, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
This recipe was wonderful, but as others have said, definently turn the heat to low/medium on the flour step. It was very easy to make and the flavor was wonderful (tastes even better as a leftover). It is also very easy to modify spice wise; just add cayenne, hot sauce, or hot chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BANYO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
This is a five star recipe with some alterations. First, add some chicken stock, about 1 1/2 cups. Also, to kick it up some, I cut up a jalepeno and simmered it with the other peppers. I added a little of cayanne pepper and the finishing touch- a little sherry. Magnificent. Serve over white rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANINEGRANT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
I prepared this recipe for a "Fat Tuesday" celebration at work. Everyone loved it, including a fellow employee who is a Louisiana native. In fact it was the first item on the buffet table to be completely devoured. Although I prepared the recipe for 20 servings, it was very easy. My hat is off to Stacey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
Great dish! Serve over hot cooked rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
This dish was very good. My husband even went back for 2nd's. The only thing better was if I had made Louisiana style Gumbo. The only part of the recipe I would change is when making the mixture of flour and oil is to stir continously over low to medium heat. When followed the directions I burnt the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
We really liked this! It came together pretty quickly and was devoured even quicker. And it is healthy! For me, the flour and oil was ready in 2 minutes, but my mom said it was because we had a gas stove. I mistakenly drained the tomatoes and had to replace the liquid with bloody mary mix (we had no plain tomato juice) but it worked very well. Also we had no leftover chicken so I just poached a chicken breast and it worked fine. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
Super good! We used a Oat flour because my daughter is allergic to wheat. Added quite a bit of chicken stock to moisten the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
It was really good and different considering that I'm Aussie and I've never had a gumbo before. However I found I had to add a cup of chicken stock because it was really dry - maybe my onion and capsicum were too big. But nonetheless my friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
My entire family loved this recipe, definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pascagoula, Mississippi, USA
Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States