Gumbo Style Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
I prepared this recipe for a "Fat Tuesday" celebration at work. Everyone loved it, including a fellow employee who is a Louisiana native. In fact it was the first item on the buffet table to be completely devoured. Although I prepared the recipe for 20 servings, it was very easy. My hat is off to Stacey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
Great dish! Serve over hot cooked rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
This dish was very good. My husband even went back for 2nd's. The only thing better was if I had made Louisiana style Gumbo. The only part of the recipe I would change is when making the mixture of flour and oil is to stir continously over low to medium heat. When followed the directions I burnt the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
Absolutely delicious and so much wonderful flavor! I added a little bit of fresh okra to the recipe (I couldn't imagine a gumbo-like dish without it!) and used a mix of green, yellow, and red peppers. Add some extra hot sauce or even some cayenne pepper if you like it spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
This is a favorite! You can control the spicy heat to make to your taste. It is an excellent leftover dish, and I am VERY fussy about what I eat as a leftover. It goes great over rice, and I'm sure it would go well with noodles. It's a snap to make, ready in minutes, and it was liked by all of my family members, who are pretty fussy and don't like "spicy" foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
Too goopy, not enough veggies, and very simple flavor profile... I wanted something a little more complex, not just spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
I made this dinner last night with my girlfriend. By the time we get home from work we have only a little time before watching the O.C., so a quick and easy recipe like this with excellent results made for a perfect evening. I would agree that when cooking the oil with the flour to used a medium/low heat. I served it with some dirty rice as well. Can't wait to tackle the leftovers. Thanks, Stacey!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
Great recipe! I'm on a low cholestrol diet and this was great because it had real flavor--I felt like I was cheating!!! I had to add a little tomato juice during the final simmer but otherwise the recipe was perfect. My husband loved it, especially since it was spicy. It will be fixed often at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
I really thought my husband and i would enjoy this recipe. The chicken just didn't flow with the other flavors, in fact, it was quite bland. I added okra, which tasted awful in the dish as well. For some reason there was just no flavor. I would suggest using a spicy sausage or marinated chicken of some sort. Otherwise, be prepared for a very bland dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRAE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
We actually made a few changes to this receipie which gave it a real nice kick. To make it a bit more soup-like we added 2 cups of chicken stock. We also added kielbasa (chirozo would work as well!), and threw in a few more spicies because we like it flavorful and spicy. This turned out to be one of our favorites, and we'll definitly be using it more in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: White Salmon, Washington, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States