Gumbo Style Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
It had a good amount of spice without any added hot sauce. I did add red beans, one can with all the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
My boyfriend went back for seconds. He came home from a long days work and was famished. When he sat down to this gumbo, he couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
We really loved the flavor of this dish. I did alter it a little so I will put it out there for everyone how I altered and let them decide. 1st I used some canola oil and some butter (about 4 tablespoons of each with the flour. I only let it bubble for 2 or 3 minutes 2nd at this point is was a little too goey so added about 1 cup of homemade chicken stock. 3rd I used frozen chopped onion and green pepper about 1/3 cup each (defrosted in the microwave) Mixed with the roux and let simmer while I got the rest of the ingredients together 4th-Added the rest of the ingedients as stated, but omitted the salt. 5th I added about a half a pound of diced smoked sausage and about 1 Tablespoon of cajun seasoning blend. Let this simmer for about 10-15 minutes. Served over rice for hubby and noodles for me. I think I said this before, but I loved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Surprisingly good...I was excited to make this for Fat Tuesday, but when it was coming together, I was like "ewwww"...so I just put a teeny bit on my plate over some rice and was wishing I had put more. It was a little spicy, but that's what Cajun cookin' is, right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daroyboys

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeannine
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Good, easy recipe. I did omit the mushrooms and added celery. The consistency was a little dry so I added some chicken broth.I brought it up a notch in seasoning, using cayenne instead of hot sauce. I also added a little Creole seasoning. We'll be celebrating Mardi Gras with it tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Made this last night... my husband and I both LOVED it. I did omit the mushrooms, peppers, soy sauce, Worcestershire and used Emeril's "Essence" (the recipe for that is on Food Network) in place of all the spices ( I guess I made something different but something that was inspired by this recipe) I added a can a green chiles and a can of diced tomatoes...I also had to add a little water, it was a little too thick for our taste but I served it over brown rice & it was Yummy! He even took the leftovers to work for lunch today - and he NEVER does that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spanishize122
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Loved this recipe! The only thing is you have to watch the flour mixture and stir it constantly over low to medium heat or it will burn. I left out the mushrooms, and use a little sriracha sauce instead of regular hot sauce, since my husband is not a fan of spicy food. It was just the right amount of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spanishize122

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Followed recipe exactly..so bland!! Lucky I had some Buffalo wing sauce to dump in to give it some taste. I also doubled soy etc....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Everyone went back for seconds! I added chicken stock (quite a bit) and chorizo sausage, as well as substituting the hot sauce for cayenne. Instead of tomatoes with chilli pepper I added regular chopped tomatoes and two habanero/Scotch Bonnet peppers. A huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Medway, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This recipe would be great but for a few things. For one thing, the name needs to be changed. It should be Creole Style Chicken Gumbo. For another, Worcestershire and soy sauces need to go. And, please, NO sugar. Mushrooms and chile peppers are okay. Those things do actually grow in South Louisiana and could realistically be in a gumbo, though Cajun gumbo is more likely to have the peppers. Also, please don't sprinkle with filet powder. That ingredient really doesn't taste all that good and its only purpose is to somewhat thicken the gumbo -- not needed here unless you leave out the roux. Then, it should be stirred in at the end, just before serving. Also, even though celery was not originally in Creole gumbo, it has been for so long now that it is pretty much expected. And yes, definitely add more liquid. Gumbo is a soup, not a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States