Gumbo Style Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This is very good. I added okra and cayenne pepper when I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arianabeads
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
A little spicy, but everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Definately a strong recipe, don't be afraid to experiment with the ingredients per other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Wish there were more stars!!! Kept going back for more and more! I used everything listed except bell peppers (didn't have any). I also added a can of diced tomatoes and a small can of roasted garlic tomato sauce (the small can). Also, I put the chicken in raw and added extra water (eyeballed it) and put in a bay leaf and let it all simmer for about 30-45 minutes or so (to fully cook the chicken). Also I used hot sauce instead of Tabasco sauce. I used the Louisiana One Drop Does It Hot Sauce. Can we say YUMMMOOOO!!! I'd even add shrimp and/or sausage, it'd go in great I'm sure. I'd also add celery too like many reviewers say, I'm sure it'd be good in this too! My 5-yr old lil girl neighbor tried it and loved it! When she went home, she told her parents and the father came back asking to try, of course I wanted to share and oblige! I'm sure they'll enjoy!! GREAT RECIPE and SO EASY to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Outstanding recipe! Took reviewers' recommendation to make roux with butter (actually low fat margarine), add a jalapeno and some broth (only 1/2 cup as I like it as a stew). Great flavor and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Gumbo Style Chicken Creole Haiku: "Holy amazing! Spicy, can't-stop-eating-good. Followed some reviews." Adored this dish, and took helpful tips from many of the reviews, such as swapping mushrooms for celery, adding chick. broth (1 c.), adding 1/2 tsp. dried thyme, swapping hot sauce for 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper, and I also threw in some turkey smoked sausage. Out-freaking-standing! Not sure why there's so much discord over preparing the roux; perhaps there are different methods, but I've found the med. heat (oil, not butter, and flour), constant stir, not for a measured amount of time, but til it bubbles and darkens (deeper than peanut butter, which might as well be a gravy-thickener and not a true roux) always works for me. This "gumbo" was the perfect heat, texture, and taste, and I look forward to making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I made this for a group of 6 and everybody absolutely loved it. I will definitely be making it again. I made brown rice for this to be put on top of. It made the dish go further and the flavor was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Easiest Gumbo ever....and quite delicious!!!! Next time im going to add some shrimp in for the last 20 minutes of simmering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
It was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States