Gumbo Style Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
This was OK. I thought it had some sweetness in the background that did not appeal to me. There's only a teaspoon of sugar so not sure if it was from that or maybe because I used a yellow pepper instead of a green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Really, really enjoyed this Gumbo! I think that this recipe is likely best used as a 'base' recipe, to be modified a little bit depending on the tastes of the cook. Personally, I followed the advice of others and made a few alterations/additions: 1. Added one, chopped, smoked sausage coil. 2. Used Cayenne pepper in place of hot sauce. 3. Omitted mushrooms.. but doubled bell peppers. 4. Used 1 can of chicken stock. 5. 20 minutes is not NEARLY enough cook time. I simmered this for 2 hours before serving. It gave the flavours a chance to really develop and deepen. Absolutely divine! I am looking desperately forward to lunch today when I'll get to have it as leftovers… I imagine it'll only be tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Great flavor easy to make. To add my own twist I added chopped green onions and Andouille Sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
It was good but it needed more flavor. I omitted the hot sauce(blah) in exchange for 1 tsp. curry powder and 1 tsp cayenne pepper. I added an extra clove of garlic, a dash or two of more salt and I omitted the mushrooms and used celery instead. It turned out to be delicious this way. More my style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I made this last night when we only had 6 pieces of chicken and 7 mouths to feed. As with many of the other reviews, I used butter instead of oil and omitted the mushrooms and Worcestershire sauce. I also forgot to pick up celery while at the grocery store, so I just added 1 tsp of celery seed. Other additions: Creole seasoning, a little extra soy sauce and 2 serrano peppers. Everyone scarfed it up. It rocked. Thank you for a great jumping off point. Next time, I'll add okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UMKATIBA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Al-Iskandariyah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Made as is except left out mushrooms, added 2 cups of chicken broth and used cayenne instead of hot sauce. These additons were like the gumbo my cajun grandmother used to make! Soooo good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This was delicious. I did modify the recipe a little..I added sausage and shrimp and increased my liquids by using chicken broth (can) and a little more Worchestershire, soy sauce, salt and pepper. I also added a can of stewed tomatoes. It has a awesome flavor and will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This has become a family favorite! Thank you for the great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lehighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This was the best Chicken Creole that I've ever had! My 9 year old even went back for seconds which is unheard of unless it's junk food! The secret to a good roux is a cast iron skillet or dutch oven. I used my dutch oven and it didn't even take 5 minutes to get the right color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I skipped the whole "burn the flour in the pan, get frustrated and start all over" step. I have made this 4 times in the last 6 months - it is really good. I saute the veggies in oil until tender then add the flour (I use 1/2 the amount), stir it all together then add all the other ingredients. Very easy. I have to add some chicken broth - about a cup to a cup and a half to get it to a smooth consistency. I cut the chicken down a couple cups and add in a package of keilbasa. I use rotel tomatoes and cut the black pepper in half - some of the kids don't like that much spice. Also, we add the hot sauce at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States