Gumbo Style Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Delicious!! I usually hate mushrooms, but using 2 fresh mushrooms, sliced, it was wonderful! Even my very picky kids liked it. (Just told them it was what they make on Princess and the Frog.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearfield, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Very good, I doubled the recipe, used butter instead of oil and added 3 cups of chicken broth, served over rice. Family loved it and so did my guests. There were 8 of us and there was only a little left over, so I don't see how the original recipe would feed five without the addition of the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tinytink36
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I didn't make this my co-worker did and this is what he had to say with 4.5 stars. "Very quick and easy to make. I added andouille sausage and 1/2 tsp of creole seasoning. It was Yummy. goes great with honey corn bread."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinytink36

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
This was a great dish. I followed the recipe with only these exceptions. 1. Used cayenne pepper AND hot sauce, we like things to bite back, and that did the trick. 2. I did not have the tomatoes w/ green chilies on hand, but italian style tomatoes w/ garlic, basil, and orgeno. So I used these. I was going to omit the mushrooms as others suggested, but when I realized that would have to use the italian style tomatoes, I decided to go ahead and throw the mushrooms in anyway. Absolutely fantastic. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Definitely spicy as written. The only change I made was to add a can of chicken broth and left out the mushrooms (don't like them). Next time I will add sausage too (upon husband's request) and celery. So that you understand what I mean when I say it was spicy enough, I like medium buffalo wings (especially if ordering at Duffs in Buffalo, those tend to be a little spicier than standard medium and it pushes my tolerance edge a bit, much like this recipe) and for Thai I tend to order at a 3 (on a scale of 1-10).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Lebanon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
My family was ok on this. I liked it and it was a great use of okra, but it's gonna be only an occasional thing in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpine, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Very tasty recipe. Definately has a "kick" to it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I too added extra chicken broth- maybe a cup- and cut donw on the oil. Very tasty dish and a good gumbo without shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
omitted mushrooms & green pepper. Added some thyme and old bay seasoning, plus an additional 1 1/2 cups chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by athomas21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I made this recipe following the suggestions of the "religious creole cook" that rated the recipe before me. I added 1/2 tsp thyme, used fresh celery instead of mushrooms, and substituted cayenne pepper for the hot sauce. Served with jasmine rice for a truly hearty and delicious meal. Thank you! I only gave it a 4 because of the changes I made; otherwise, it's a 5 for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warrensburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States