Gumbo Style Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
deeeeelicious! It was pretty thick so I added 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth as suggested by other reviewers and I added 1/2 tsp of thyme and omitted mushrooms. Everything else as written. Served over rice and oh so yummy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Wonderful! I used rotel and some stewed tomatoes to increase liguid. Butter and oil as suggested Threw in some frozen small whole okra instead of mushrooms and served over rice. Added cajun seasoning, we like the spce.. OH YEAH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberlynp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Delicious! Added some cooked shrimp during the last 5 min. and served it over rice. Loved the spicy flavor of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Excellent recipe, so easy and really good. I followed the modifications of Paul Schulz, no mushrooms, add thyme and skip the hot sauce, put in cayenne, (just a little will do). I loved it and my boyfriend who lived in Louisiana for a number of years loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
It had a good amount of spice without any added hot sauce. I did add red beans, one can with all the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
My boyfriend went back for seconds. He came home from a long days work and was famished. When he sat down to this gumbo, he couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
We really loved the flavor of this dish. I did alter it a little so I will put it out there for everyone how I altered and let them decide. 1st I used some canola oil and some butter (about 4 tablespoons of each with the flour. I only let it bubble for 2 or 3 minutes 2nd at this point is was a little too goey so added about 1 cup of homemade chicken stock. 3rd I used frozen chopped onion and green pepper about 1/3 cup each (defrosted in the microwave) Mixed with the roux and let simmer while I got the rest of the ingredients together 4th-Added the rest of the ingedients as stated, but omitted the salt. 5th I added about a half a pound of diced smoked sausage and about 1 Tablespoon of cajun seasoning blend. Let this simmer for about 10-15 minutes. Served over rice for hubby and noodles for me. I think I said this before, but I loved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Surprisingly good...I was excited to make this for Fat Tuesday, but when it was coming together, I was like "ewwww"...so I just put a teeny bit on my plate over some rice and was wishing I had put more. It was a little spicy, but that's what Cajun cookin' is, right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daroyboys

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeannine
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Good, easy recipe. I did omit the mushrooms and added celery. The consistency was a little dry so I added some chicken broth.I brought it up a notch in seasoning, using cayenne instead of hot sauce. I also added a little Creole seasoning. We'll be celebrating Mardi Gras with it tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Made this last night... my husband and I both LOVED it. I did omit the mushrooms, peppers, soy sauce, Worcestershire and used Emeril's "Essence" (the recipe for that is on Food Network) in place of all the spices ( I guess I made something different but something that was inspired by this recipe) I added a can a green chiles and a can of diced tomatoes...I also had to add a little water, it was a little too thick for our taste but I served it over brown rice & it was Yummy! He even took the leftovers to work for lunch today - and he NEVER does that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States