Gumbo Style Chicken Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This was great! I only had a red pepper, so I used that instead of green. Added a can of diced chiles and a small can of olives - May have made it less authentic but it was still tasty. Also added a 10oz can of chicken broth after reading reviews, but we wanted it like a stew, not a soup. The longer you simmer, the tastier it gets. Great use of cooked chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight. After reading all the reviews over the last few days, I made my adjustments. I used half the butter(not oil) and flour which I used when sauteeing the onions, peppers, garlic, and sausage. Because I used only 2 tablespoons of flour, there was no need to add any chicken stock. I added 1/4 tsp. of chili powder, Creole seasoning, and ground thyme. I cut the Worcestershire and soy sauces and salt in half. I did not add sugar or Tabasco. I simmered the pot of all ingredients for 30 minutes while I made the white rice. When I initially tasted the juice, it didn't seem to be spicy enough. However, after 30 minutes, the flavor and spice were perfect! My husband and I loved this dish. I'm the more critical of eaters. I wouldn't change a thing I did. We have leftovers for one more bowl apiece. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Novick Feuille

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight without reading any reviews first. That's something I don't usually do, but I was running late, and it looked good and easy enough. It was delicious! I did use butter instead of oil with the flour. I think it makes for a tastier dish, and I also added a couple of cups of chicken broth because it was way too thick. After simmering for about a half hour, covered, it was perfect. Will definitely make again when I have more time, add some sausage and shrimp and more spice for a company-worthy main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I absolutely loved this recipe. I was borned and raised in LA and this is really close to home. I only added some thyme, Zatarain's creole seasoning, sausage, and crushed red pepper because I like a lil kick to mine. I also felt it wasn't enough salt and pepper so I added more of those as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
followed the recommendations such as using one and a half cup chicken broth,omitting the mushrooms although next time I will add them as I think it would go well. I also pre cooked the lentils. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This was a hearty dish that was rich in flavor. We enjoyed having this tonight. There are a couple of changes I made that were great suggestions from other reviewers. ½ tsp of dried thyme was used and instead of a few dashes of hot sauce, I used ¼ tsp cayenne pepper. This brought a delightful warmth. Because I served it with rice, I wanted more of a saucy element. I felt 1 ½ cups of chicken stock went well here. This was very filling and pleasing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This is a keeper. Replaced the tinned mushrooms with fresh ones and added1/2 a tin of mushroom soup. Did not have diced tomatos with chiles just regular diced tomatos so I added a chopped jalopeno (seeds and all)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zswanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I really loved this recipe. It is easy to make with easy ingredients. It was quite tasty. I did make a few alterations with more hot sauce and salt but it had just the right amount of spice with the chicken absorbed in the tomatoes. Yum!!!! Kudos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Theintern

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Made this with a few alterations and it turned out AMAZING! Made the roux with butter and brown rice flour because I was out of all-purpose flour. The roux took about 3 minutes to change colour. Next I added a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes instead of 14 oz and 2 cups of water with 1 chicken bouillon. The reason I added more liquid is because I used uncooked chicken thighs instead of cooked chicken breast because that's what I had in my fridge. I cooked the chicken in the liquid for about 50 mins covered and on medium-low, just about all the extra liquid evaporated during the cooking process. Once the chicken was cooked I took it off the bones (it literally fell off the bones). Oh I also used a whole green chile pepper and added 1 tsp of cayenne. The spice was perfect for my family! I omitted the mushrooms and added half a Portuguese sausage. Everyone loved it and it tasted even better the next day. I think next time I will used white meat to cut back on the fat. Overall, dinner was a great success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States