Guluptsie (Cabbage Rolls) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
My husband is from Russia. I made this as a surprise and he LOVED it! He said it tasted just like back home. I really liked it too. I followed other comments so I added a little more seasoning to the mix. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
A great starter recipe. I used 1.5 pounds of ground beef and 1 pound of ground pork. Since I reduced the portion of meat, I also reduced the amount of rice to 1.5cups. To perk up the flavor I used 4 cloves of garlic. I also seasoned the meat well when cooking, with onion powder, garlic powder, a pinch of celery seed, salt and pepper. To the meat/rice mixture I included a few splashes of V8 (until moistened). To the tomatoes I substituted the chicken broth for water in which the cabbage was cooked in. I also added approximately a cup of V8 to the tomato sauce. I only made one pan and it cooked perfectly in 1.5 hours. Served with sour cream and it made a delightful meal with plenty of left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
needs more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
My mother-in-law from Poland and I have watched and learned how to make it. Only changes I do are - I use 60% ground beef to 40% ground pork. Basically like what some would use for a meat loaf mixture. Also I brown a chopped onion with about 4-6 slices of bacon and add to the meat/rice mixture. When you boil the cabbage leaves, save the water that it is cooked in and use instead of chicken broth. My mother in law insists on this step! Great to make a day ahead of company and reheat, the flavors are even better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I will definitely be making this again!!! Because some of the other reviewers said it came out bland, I did add some spices to the meat mixture as well as the can of V8 others suggested. I put in Basil, Rosemary and a little extra dill weed. I also omitted the extra 1 1/2 pounds ground beef and was able to squeeze it all in one pan. I didn’t have veal and didn’t want to completely overwhelm the pork flavor with too much beef. My husband loved the way it came out. I was looking for a Sarmale recipe because he is from Romania but this came pretty close. The cabbage just isn’t as salty as Sarmale but the meat was delicious. oh, one more thing! I would recommend serving with a dollop of sour cream. It really adds to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I made these for dinner and found them to be bland. They also didn't have enough sauce for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Exactly the way my mother makes it. Like the above reviewer,I also add V-8 juice, it really makes a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Southon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA
Living In: Pace, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This was a big dissapointment. i didn't have any venison, but used sausage and beef. everything else was the same. it was the blandest, most flavorless thing i've ever had in my life. it's like all the flavors canceled each other out. never again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
I love these! Although , I do not bake mine. I just let them simmer in tomato sauce for about an hour. They are great with sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Delecious and filling. Great meal for a dish to pass gathering. I like to add some V/8 for a little spicer dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats his face

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Branch, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States