Guluptsie (Cabbage Rolls) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
love it, no big deal. that's what's for dinner tonight. (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Very good start to the recipe. I made it as the recipe states with the exception of using ground pork and ground chicken (instead of beef) and brown rice instead of white to make this a bit healthier. The flavor is a little bland but that just needs a bit more sage and parsley so more of a chicken soup than a chicken broth. I'd suggest bullion instead of broth. The only other change is to double the tomatoes and sauce and add some to the meat mixture. There wasn't enough sauce to sufficiently cover the rolls and the filling was a bit dry. Like I said, good recipe and with a couple easy tweaks, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenneth J. Partyka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Great basic cabbage roll recipe. Reminds me of my Grandmothers. I've tried different grains in place of the rice, like barley, quinoa, or kasha. This recipe is easy to adapt to any grain on hand and I like to experiment with the textures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MindyMcC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palenville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Delicious recipe! I do not add the pork, just use ground chuck. I do not add egg either to my meat mixture. What I do add is 1-1/2 TBSP of tomato paste & 2 TBSP of tomato soup from the can in the meat mixture to hold it together. I do not cook my minute rice, I just measure 3/4 cup of it to the meat mixture to abosorb excess liquid. This will save you from draining the meat (our ground chuck from our meat store is pretty lean!) I use 1 large onion chopped fine with Mrs. Dash, salt & pepper and that is it for seasonings. I cook them in tomato soup diluted with water in the oven at 350 for 1 hour in a covered roasting pan I serve with a side dish of mashed potatoes and use the juice they cooked in as a "gravy" on the mashed potatoes! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Scherzer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Great recipe! Never had them, never made them before, and they turned out awesome! Added V8 and some additional spices as suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Uhrlaub

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This was a winner, even the boyfriend who doesn't like veggies had a second helping of these. I tried to make this as close to the recipe as possible with what I had in the pantry, but dill weed is something I just don't have on hand. I added in a little of this area's "cajun" flair to it with a little cayenne pepper instead of the red pepper flakes. I also used some fresh green onion pork sausage from a local butcher shop down here that made these rolls amazing in my opinion, though it may be a little biased. I didn't have any venison either, but if I ever get lucky enough to get some, I'll definitely try this recipe again with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xallip79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thibodaux, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This is the way cabbage rolls should be made My Grandma is from Poland I do not use red pepper flakes or dill weed But I Do use 1 teaspoon garlic powder or 2 cloves minced garlic 2 bay leaves and once in awhile a good pinch of thyme also a splash of apple cider vinegar or 1/2 of a squeezed lemon and maybe a teaspoon or 2 of white or brown sugar(I cheat and use Splenda) to make it a little zesty and bring out flavors very subtly all in all this recipe is and with or without tomatoes but I like it with
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
It is spelled Gwumpkies in polish. Great recipe. As for the critical review this recipe is very traditional except for the sage pork sausage and comes from poor regions in the old country (Europe) and is bland because there was very little money for anything. I like to perk up the flavor myself. For a recipe this size here's how, first don't drain the meat dry in a colander leave some fat in, use at least 1-tsp salt in the meat, in the sauce add the following, 2-tsp salt, 1/3 cup brown sugar, and my secret ingredient is ketchup to taste about 3/4c. However you could also use 1/4 to 1/2c apple cider vinegar or a(small or large) can of sour kraut instead of ketchup. The ketchup, vinegar or kraut really step up the flavor and give that little twang to the taste buds. I feel the need here to remind people, start with less you can always add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Very good. We used 80% 20% pork and it came out just fine; definitely need to bump-up the amount of herbs though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
A definite keeper!!! Very easy recipe and super tasty, my family has requested to add this on the weekly menu. I cooked mine in a crockpot. In a saucepan -- mixed the canned tomatoes, tomato sauce & chicken stock, cooked to a rolling boil. Meat mix was 3-lbs ground beef & 3-lbs italian sweet sausage, increaesd rice to 2.5C. Scooped sauce in the crockpot, layered the cabbage rolls and sauce. Cooked in crockpot for 2-hrs. Amazing! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Penaflorida-Lotto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States