Guluptsie (Cabbage Rolls) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Great recipe! Never had them, never made them before, and they turned out awesome! Added V8 and some additional spices as suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This was a winner, even the boyfriend who doesn't like veggies had a second helping of these. I tried to make this as close to the recipe as possible with what I had in the pantry, but dill weed is something I just don't have on hand. I added in a little of this area's "cajun" flair to it with a little cayenne pepper instead of the red pepper flakes. I also used some fresh green onion pork sausage from a local butcher shop down here that made these rolls amazing in my opinion, though it may be a little biased. I didn't have any venison either, but if I ever get lucky enough to get some, I'll definitely try this recipe again with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xallip79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thibodaux, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This is the way cabbage rolls should be made My Grandma is from Poland I do not use red pepper flakes or dill weed But I Do use 1 teaspoon garlic powder or 2 cloves minced garlic 2 bay leaves and once in awhile a good pinch of thyme also a splash of apple cider vinegar or 1/2 of a squeezed lemon and maybe a teaspoon or 2 of white or brown sugar(I cheat and use Splenda) to make it a little zesty and bring out flavors very subtly all in all this recipe is and with or without tomatoes but I like it with
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
It is spelled Gwumpkies in polish. Great recipe. As for the critical review this recipe is very traditional except for the sage pork sausage and comes from poor regions in the old country (Europe) and is bland because there was very little money for anything. I like to perk up the flavor myself. For a recipe this size here's how, first don't drain the meat dry in a colander leave some fat in, use at least 1-tsp salt in the meat, in the sauce add the following, 2-tsp salt, 1/3 cup brown sugar, and my secret ingredient is ketchup to taste about 3/4c. However you could also use 1/4 to 1/2c apple cider vinegar or a(small or large) can of sour kraut instead of ketchup. The ketchup, vinegar or kraut really step up the flavor and give that little twang to the taste buds. I feel the need here to remind people, start with less you can always add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Very good. We used 80% 20% pork and it came out just fine; definitely need to bump-up the amount of herbs though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
A definite keeper!!! Very easy recipe and super tasty, my family has requested to add this on the weekly menu. I cooked mine in a crockpot. In a saucepan -- mixed the canned tomatoes, tomato sauce & chicken stock, cooked to a rolling boil. Meat mix was 3-lbs ground beef & 3-lbs italian sweet sausage, increaesd rice to 2.5C. Scooped sauce in the crockpot, layered the cabbage rolls and sauce. Cooked in crockpot for 2-hrs. Amazing! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
keep in mind that this recipe yields 60 rolls!! When I'm making them for a small group, I usually half the recipe. The only thing I ever change in this recipe is the meat mix - I use ground pork and ground beef. I also serve mine with sour cream on the side. The kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrjcbk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Leave out the venison/beef and pork and increase rice abit. I could eat these 24/7 and never tire of them. Top with sour cream and a sprinkling of chopped up salt pork and I am whisked back to memories of Baba's meals. Add some borscht and we are all set. I have never visited my familiy's homeland, the Ukraine, but imagine eating Holupchi over there when I prepare these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
My husband is from Russia. I made this as a surprise and he LOVED it! He said it tasted just like back home. I really liked it too. I followed other comments so I added a little more seasoning to the mix. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
A great starter recipe. I used 1.5 pounds of ground beef and 1 pound of ground pork. Since I reduced the portion of meat, I also reduced the amount of rice to 1.5cups. To perk up the flavor I used 4 cloves of garlic. I also seasoned the meat well when cooking, with onion powder, garlic powder, a pinch of celery seed, salt and pepper. To the meat/rice mixture I included a few splashes of V8 (until moistened). To the tomatoes I substituted the chicken broth for water in which the cabbage was cooked in. I also added approximately a cup of V8 to the tomato sauce. I only made one pan and it cooked perfectly in 1.5 hours. Served with sour cream and it made a delightful meal with plenty of left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States