Gulliver's Cream Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I've been making this creamed corn since the mid-70s. The recipe NEVER called for MSG. The restaurant had the recipes printed and available on a table in the entry. And the nice thing was if you wanted more, they would bring it no charge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyn Hamilton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Most delicious corn I have ever eaten, thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmy Mangus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mililani, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
SOOOOO happy when I saw this posting. Gulliver's had the best creamed corn but the rest of the food was just ok. I made it for a BBQ (doubled the recipe) and I ended up packing up the last serving as a leftover for a family friend along with printing out the recipe for him. I don't add the MSG because its just not something I had in my kitchen. Highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
We have had Gulliver's Corn for Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners for years and years. I originally got the recipe from a friend about 15 years ago. It isn't the holidays without this delicious creamed corn. NOTHING LIKE canned cream corn! We do not use MSG and it's still delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Absolutely awesome! I attempted another version of this recipe three times previously with disasterous results - my sauce never thickened. I finally decided to make a roux instead of using cornstarch and voila' - PERFECT CREAMED CORN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I made this last year for Thanksgiving, but forgot to rate until now. We enjoyed it so much last year, we had it again this year. The only change I make is omitting the Sugar. Will be a Thanksgiving regular for us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Berggren Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Six stars if I could! I too make this without the MSG, and it's a hit every Thanksgiving. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I don't know about Gulliver's starting in the Bay Area as I'm native Southern California and it was Gullivers in the Long Beach/LA area... went to it as a kid and my mother got this recipe from a friend who served there about 38 years ago! This has been a staple of our Thanksgiving menu for the past 30 years and is requested EVERY year! It is delicious!!! Gives a whole new meaning to Cream Corn!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I am curious if sprinkling in some real cornmeal at the beginning would add flavor & texture to this. Agree that evaporated milk should be used. I was looking for a non-bake side dish for T-Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Good recipe. I was looking for "drippy corn" that hubby loves and had an abundance of fresh corn I'd cut off the cob. I avoid MSG, so I dashed with some soy sauce. I don't know who Gulliver is, but my Southern family enjoyed this side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNESKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States