Gulab Jamun Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
terrible proportions flat instead of balls the first one disintegrated in the oil i added more milk powder and still got a bad result i.e. flat and 1/2 disintegrated very disappointing find another recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Good recipe. For those who have a sticky dough add more ghee to mixture instead of milk and knead well until it leaves the sides of the bowl. You may also omit the nuts and raisins for a smoother texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daria Sorhaindo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I made Gulab Jamun as a surprise for my boyfriend, he is from Bangladesh. He absolutely loved it!!! And so did I! The suggestions are correct; 2 cups of powdered milk are needed instead of 1. Another thing I would recommend is to let the dough rest for about 5 minutes after mixing it! It will give time for regular milk to be absorbed by the powdered one and the dough is much easier to handle! Thank you so much for posting it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irina Thiesen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
It was a very good recipe.... The dough was not really good.... But we sorted that out...please put on the right recipe of the dough. -GG
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Complete fail it turned into a sauce i added more stuff and it just became a sticky mess. You should add in the recipe gradually add the milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
This recipe didn't work for me...and I even decreased the amount of warm milk. The balls didn't expand like I thought they would. THe size I made them was about the size they came out to be. Please help. What did I do wrong???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Terrible recipe. The dough is an awful consistency, and you taste too much of the flour. I made the mistake of only looking at the star rating and not reading the comments in depth. Do yourself a favor and make it the proper way from scratch (instead of using milk powder and making dough), curdling milk and skimming the curds. It'll come out MUCH better, and only takes a little longer to prep. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME ON THIS RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
its the only easiest recipe of gulab jamun that really works giving it more stars cause m very very happy with the result so i will ignore the little fact that dry milk ratio is what it should b so according to the given suggestion i put 1/2 cup more dry milk n then it was possible to make balls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Recipe for dough does not bind, it is runny and not able to form balls from it. I agree with Effie, add more dry milk until able to form balls. I tried adding more flour but it made it too doughy. Next time I will try more dry milk. They should be spongy not doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3KIDS4SAIL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Funnel Cakes

Why wait for the county fair to enjoy these fun fried cakes?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States