Gujarati Carrot and Peanut Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by caitlinleah
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
i was very dubious of this recipe, but i had all the ingredients, so i tried it and was so pleasantly surprised! i added mint instead of cilantro, because that's what i had, and the mint-carrot-peanut combination is much greater than the sum of its parts. try it, i bet you'll like it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caitlinleah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Very nice salad to serve with spicy curry dishes. I followed the recipe exactly, but instead of adding dressing right before serving, next time I will add and let chill for a few hours in refrigerator. I found the salad nicer the next day after the dressing had time to marinate the carrots. Next time I will also try to add some raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Such as fabulous salad. A great combination of flavors! I omitted the sugar and it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
For the first time, when I made this salad I gave 4 stars, but now I want to change my rating, because I made this salad again and realized, how wonderful it is. Very refreshing, tasty, I added more lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
What an awesome side dish this turned out to be! It was quick to make, tasty initially and even better the next day. So much more fun than the same old, same old roasted carrots. Each different flavor in the dressing sings out to you and the peanuty crunch makes your mouth happy. This is definitely getting into a regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Loved this!! So fast and easy to prepare and really yummy and different. I served this with shish kabobs and naan. Yummmm!!! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
It's a hard to find a good salad recipe that doesn't use any oil, but this salad is delicious. I substituted honey for the sugar and replaced the peanuts with walnuts and sun flower seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This was very easy to put together. I made ahead as others suggested and added the peanuts just before serving. We felt the lemon was overpowering but the salad had a nice fresh quality about it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This was very unusual for my family. I used 1/2 of a poblano as the "chili pepper". I agree that the flavors blend better overnight, but letting it sit makes the peanuts soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aopiuofc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Absolutely astounding. This is honestly one of my favorite dishes of all time. It's tart, sweet, salty, and best of all is pretty dang good for you! I don't add quite as much lemon juice. I recommend letting it sit for a few hours in the refrigerator or even overnight to let the carrots completely absorb the juices and seasonings. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States