Guinness® and Chocolate Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I used crushed chocolate graham crackers, which I increased to 1 1/2 cups, and I used 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa for the crust, not 1/4 teaspoon. I used Ghiradelli 60% cocoa chocolate chips. I also cooked at 325 for about 70 min., then let sit in oven with the door cracked for another hour. Instead of a water bath, I just put a tray of water underneath the cheesecake. After all that, this was the most decadent chocolate cheesecake I have had for some time. It was picture perfect, and had such a wonderfully rich dark chocolate flavor, I was showered with compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leah
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I came across this recipe while browsing for a fun new cheesecake recipe to make for Valentine's day. My husband loves Guinness, so I knew I had to try it. I'm not a huge fan of cheesecake, but we both LOVED it!! So delicious and not too difficult to make. I didn't have a springform pan, so I used a regular pan, and after the cheesecake cooled, I flipped it onto a piece of parchment paper, and then back to a regular plate. I made chocolate hearts instead of clovers (because of Valentine's day)- so the presentation was *almost* as wonderful as the taste. I admit, at first I thought it'd be weird to try beer in cheesecake, but I'm so glad I did!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I love Guinness so I was really excited about this recipe. I followed the directions exactly but after waiting forever for the cheesecake to be ready, it was completely raw inside. I am really upset that this recipe didn't work because I really wanted to try it, but I would have no idea how much longer to bake it for. I think it might have something to do with altitude? Who knows, I don't know what else might have went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly709
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
So I just made this cake, I found it took a really long time to bake, but my oven isn't the best either, and I also found it rose up a lot. If I hadn't of lined my cake pan with parchment paper it would have overflowed. I figure it rose up due to the yeast in the beer but I could be wrong about that. I haven't eaten the actual cake yet, it's for a St Patricks day party tomorrow, but the batter was heavenly. I just hope the cake tastes just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I made this recipe for St Patty's Day and it came out looking beautiful. I added an extra 1/2 cup of cookie crumbs and two extra tbls of butter for the crust. The flavor of the cheesecake itself isn't as chocolatey as I'd like but it wasn't bad. I'll probably not make this again. I don't think it's a bad recipe just not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Mmmmmmmmmm! I made this for my annual St. Patrick's Day party and there wasn't a crumb left at the end of the night! The cheesecake is easy and delicious. I used chocolate teddy grahams because I couldn't find chocolate cookies for the crust and they worked great. I also increased the cooking time to 70 minutes, and it still needed to be cooked longer. Will definitely save for next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
For the love of God & the Holy Mother, drink the Guinness while you're looking for a DIFFERENT recipe. Seriously. This one is horrible. I cook cheesecakes all the time. (DH loves cheesecake almost as much as Guinness.) So I should have trusted my instincts on this one & skipped the beer as the recipe was already too loose. The person even got the crust part wrong: cookie crusts need 2 cups crumbs, 2 TB butter (hello, the stuff in the middle is already fat & sweet & chocolate); graham cracker crusts need 1-1/2 cups crumbs, 1/4 cup butter, 1/4 cup sugar. Too much butter leaves cookie crusts tasting like lard & cracker crusts hard. It's not necessary to reinvent the wheel just because you're going to post your recipe. No idea what the 1/4 tsp cocoa was for...I've never seen 1/4 tsp of anything called for in a recipe. Why bother? The eggs, sour cream, cream cheese is all a normal cheesecake recipe...so, it's either the 3/4 cup beer puts the liquidity over the top or its the water bath cooking method. (I didn't immerse my springform by the way, a pan of water underneath in an oven would be sufficient in a recipe that NEEDS moisture, UNLIKE this one.) Finally, 90 minutes on 350, I take it out as the perimeter is starting to pull & crust, center looks iffy. (Left in the oven, turned off, door ajar for another hour.) & oh surprise, surprise crust is soggy, cake completely raw. I'm so mad at myself because I fell for all the hocus pocus thinking it might be interesting b
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JusCookAlready

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
what a dissapointment! it looked good, but fell apart when i tried to removed the bottom of the pan. It tasted good though, but looked like a big pile of blah. I will not make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachbride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mortons Gap, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Herrin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This recipe definitely has the POTENTIAL to be a 5 star recipe. I have made it twice just to see if I could make it work. One MAJOR item that was missed in the instructions is to wrap the bottom of your springform pan in foil before allowing the water to touch it. The first time I made this, the water seeped into the pan, causing the crust to get soggy. In addition to this, here are the modifications I made: I didn't add any sugar or cocoa to the crust, as I thought it was chocolaty enough with crushed oreos. I used exact measurements for everything else & used approx. a 1/3 semisweet chips and 2/3 giradelli bittersweet chips mixture. I baked about 60 minutes & turned off the oven with the door closed for about 15 minutes, then cracked the door for another 45 minutes. Once the cake is chilled in the refrigerator, it firms up nicely. So, don't be afraid to make it. It's incredibly rich tasting and a great St. Patrick's Day dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Serempta
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Wonderfully delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serempta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States