Guinness® and Chocolate Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I also ran into problems with this recipe, following the directions, regular altitude. The batter was okay, but tasted slightly sour. The batter never cooked/set properly. Perhaps some of us have oven issues?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I have made this according to the recipe EXACTLY at least 5 times. The flavor is outstanding: slightly bitter but sweet. The texture is dense and creamy in a "melt-in-your-mouth" kind of way. My husband requested it for his birthday cake and one friend even paid me to make it for him. I don't really understand all of the negative reviews. This is one of my all time favorite cheesecakes! ***Only gave 4 stars because you really should wrap the bottom of your springform in foil to protect from the water bath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTOlough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alsip, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Due to others' bad reviews because they didn't follow the recipe exactly, I made sure to follow it exactly. Well, I tried to. I had to use Oreos for the crust instead of chocolate cookies since the store didn't have chocolate cookies, so then I used half the sugar for the crust to account for the creamy sugary centers. I also used half-n-half instead of heavy cream because I could not justify buying it for just 2 T. BUT the cake came out fantastically! I made it for my hubby's 40th birthday, and he had two big fat pieces. The other party attenders gobbled it up, raving about how good it was. The texture was very creamy, wonderfully chocolaty, and the top came out looking like a professional cheesecake. I will make this again and again and again!! Just be sure to follow the directions exactly and also note what the directions don't say: wrap the springform pan in foil very well to keep the cake dry from the water bath. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
really enjoyed this but it is very rich could'nt eat a lot of it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khadz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkcaldy, Fife, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This cheesecake was incredibly rich and delicious. It was probably the best flavored cheesecake I've ever tried. I increased the cooktime to 60 mins. and used used the separate water pan method. I also let it chill for closer to 24 hours since I had to work.....this made the crust a little soggy. Overall, this recipe is well worth doing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LoriAnn
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This is the first cheesecake I have ever made and it came out spectacularly! I followed the directions exactly, other than placing a pan of water on the rack under the springform pan, rather than the pan in the water, for the water bath. Our friend is a huge Guinness fan and so I made this for his birthday. It was delicious and received rave reviews from everyone! I am not one who spends a lot of time in the kitchen and I impressed myself with this, thanks for an incredible recipe that made this everyday mom seem like a gourmet! I will def. make this again. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Was a big hit. I made it for my Dad's birthday and he LOVED it! Actually everyone but me loved it. I think it's b/c I really don't like the taste of Guinness. I'll make it again for everyone else again! Don't be worried about the "too much liquid". It turned out very similar to the Eggnog Cheesecake also on this site. Bon Chance! A
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Absolutely awesome! A great treat for my beer loving boyfriend. I used 1 1/2 cups of chocolate graham crackers instead of the 1 cup of chocolate cookies. Used a little more butter in the crust because of the additional crumbs. Also used 1/2 teaspoon of coco instead of 1/4 teaspoon. In the filling I used an additional teaspoon of vanilla (3 total). The end result was awesome! The beer is subtle but definitely present in the flavor. This allowed me to enjoy it as well as my boyfriend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Struckman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I have made this recipe twice now and it is the best dessert I've ever had! It sets up to be more mousse-like than a typical cheesecake and you must chill it at least 3 hours to set. I couldn't wait and cut into it early and was afraid that it would stay that soft but the next morning it was perfect. I was worried about that the first time as well because the center stayed jiggly even after turning off the oven and letting it cool. I use chocolate graham crackers for the crust and don't bother with the cocoa. I also cook it at 350 for 60 minutes then shut off the oven and leave it in for another 45 minutes. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This was my first spring-form cheesecake attempt so I was nervous to begin with. It's pretty straight forward but I will admit that the 'batter' appeared very runny. After cooking it 45 and then letting it sit 45 I put it in the fridge as the recipe said. After 4 hours, I cut a piece and noted that the center did not appear to be fully cooked. Needless to say I was really disappointed. But, and this is important I think, my fridge was full and I'm sure the air circulation wasn't ideal. I left it overnight and by the morning everything had firmed up well. My guests for St. Patrick's Day tried it and loved it (granted they'd had a few). I think it's an amazing recipe and can't wait to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States