Guinness® and Chocolate Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Was a big hit this St Patty's day! some changes i made - left out the heavy cream, used 1 1/2 c crushed chocolate graham cracker instead of 1 c, and used 6 T butter for the crust. I didn't have cocoa powder either. It came out fantastic!!! I used a 9x13 pan with aluminum foil on the bottom to take it out easier. I cut it into squares for a party with about 30 people. I also put a baking sheet with water on the rack below as suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This was so great! I can't wait to share this with everyone I know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Make it as directed and it turns out wonderful. If you change things blame yourself for poor results.I brought this to a party and everyone asked for the recipe! I'm sick of people complaining about recipes when they change things because they think they know better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Placerville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This was a good cheesecake, but not what I was expecting. The flavor of the Guinness was extremely subtle, which was a disappointment. I made the recipe exactly as posted, and the center did not quite set up despite sitting in the refrigerator for almost 6 hours. When served, every slice split in half because it was simply too wet. But the crowd ate it anyway, and it was thoroughly enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I have never written a review on anything but I had to do it this time! For all of the bad reviews for this recipe I just want to say, you must have done something very wrong! I love cheesecake, have made many and have sampled many more & this by far is the best cheese cake I have had. I used Oreo cookies and cut the sugar in half instead of using chocolate waffers but, that is the only thing I changed. One thing that should have been mentioned is that the cake does not look "done" when you take it out but it it will firm up when you chill it. Also, make sure you wrap the springform pan with foil so the water doesn't get inside. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
My turned out very mousse-like. I followed others advice and wrapped the bottom of my springform with foil, cooked in the water bath for 60 minutes, let it sit in the oven with door ajar for another 60 minutes. Then I chilled it for 8 hours before we ate it... I wonder what the problem was?? In addition to that, I wasn't a huge fan of the flavor. I felt it was too sour tasting. I'm a huge guinness and chocolate lover, but this really didn't do it for me, unfortunately. Other people at dinner said they loved it...but I wonder if they were just trying to be nice? I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This cheesecake was amazing! It was smooth, very silky, and was gone in a flash! Very rich chocolate flavour with just the slightest hint of the beer that was loved by beer drinkers and non-beer drinkers like myself. I had no trouble with the recipe and it turned out beautifully (though my crust did fall apart while serving, but that probably was due to the fact I used Oreo cookies instead of just plain chocolate cookies - which I couldn't find). I did have a lot of filling left over after filling my pie tin, but I had enough cookies left over so I could make a bunch of miny cheesecakes in a muffin pan. Turned out wonderfully! I will definitely be making this into a St Patrick's Day tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Friendswood, Texas, USA
Living In: Leeds, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Super yummy, just enough Guiness so even the non-beer drinker will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jules mcdaniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I think this would have been more successful without the water bath. Although I understand that the water helps to cook and cool the cake more gradually (great for cheesecakes in general), the water leaked into my springform and created a soggy mess. A waste of good stout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I made this recipe for st.patty's last year OMG the best cheesecake ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreadymama28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States