Guinness® and Chocolate Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I dont like to post anything negative, but would like to save anyone the dissapointment I had, especially if planning on serving this to guests. The flavor of the batter was lovely, but I was so upset when I made this. I made it exactly as the recipe stated. Cooked it in the bath, etc. It looked lovely and done when the time was up and I put it in the frig to chill. I went to serve it the next day and the middle was soup. My family and I were so disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Love this flavor. Used Young's Chocolate Stout. Had fun serving it with Irish Stew that had Guinness. (Didn't follow pan directions, so mine was messy, but we couldn't even wait to let it cool.) Used a ganache on top. YUM! I am a big fan and will make it again. I am also a big fan of Jesus, Mary, and Joseph, and the Holy Spirit. Now I'd better go exercise. Used full fat everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Made this for St.Patrick Day I read reviews so I cooked it longer 60 min total, left in oven chilled I did make one change I added espresso powder to crust 1/2t because I find it gives the chocolate a richer flavor, took to dinner party everyone raved and wanted recipe. Will make again! Rich and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by javadiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Placerville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
WOWZA!!!! this was amazing and not a bite left the next day!! I had to rate this to help knock this recipe back in the 5 star category. It seems like the people who rated this poorly had problems with the consistnecy of the cheesecake. I am not sure if this was due to error on their part or not, but I made this almost identical to the recipe and it was perfect. I made 2 minor changes. I only used 1/2 cup of guinness because previous ratings said it was too runny. I think if I had used 3/4 cup it would have been just fine however!! I also baked closer to an hour. After it baked, I left it in the oven for approx 30 minutes with the door ajar and then put in the fridge for 4 hours. It set up perfectly!! I to put a pan of water on the rack below instread of a waterbath. I decorated with crushed snickers and chocolate chips and served with cool whip and ice cream...HOLY MOLY!! It was to die for!! I encourage those who rated it poorly to try again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AWeiser29

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This is easily 5 stars and the people who rated 1 star almost scared me away from it! I used chocolate graham crackers for the "chocolate cookies" (What could that mean???) and I put a pan of water on the lower shelf. Water baths intimidate me. Also, I made this for my Guinness-loving husband and his anti-alcohol family. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I couldn't find my springform pan so baked this in 2 storebought chocolate cookie crusts, baked for 35 min, and they were a big hit! I put whipped cream on when I served it, hid a few cracks in the top since I wasn't able to use a waterbath to bake them in. Everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Weddle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watford City, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Great recipe-first cheesecake I have ever baked. I modified by utilizing Splenda mix instead of sugar and I did use Oreo cookies for crust and it still worked well. I did follow the cooking instructions (did not foil wrap the pan) and it did need more time. I put it into the oven for another 45 minutes-pan of water on rack beneath- and once it chilled it was absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I really wish I would have read the reviews before making this. I followed to a tee and have a big soupy mess. Or Mousse I guess. Won't bother with this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I did not care for this recipe! raw . Waste of money! Made for party and now must come up with something else. Wish I'd believed the previous reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Very tasty! With a family of beer drinkers, this was a hit. Suggestion to those who had a problem with "wet"-always use the best quality sour cream and cream cheese. Off brands can affect your results. Have eggs, cream cheese, butter and sour cream at room temperature before starting. Always drain excess moisture from your sour cream by placing in a fine sieve or yogurt strainer over a bowl while letting it warm . These little hints can make a huge difference in the end result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States