Guinness® and Chocolate Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
First, let me say how annoying it is to me to read reviews that give a poor rating when the reviewer doesn't follow the recipe! I followed the recipe EXACTLY, and this is without a doubt one of the most heavenly chocolate cheesecakes I've ever made. Just remember, the crust calls for chocolate cookies crumbs--not OREO cookie crumbs. So the butter to crumb ratio is just fine. I used chocolate graham cookie crumbs. It is very important to not leave out the heavy cream when melting the chocolate. The cream makes the chocolate into a nice, thick ganache. Eliminating the cream would result in a much thinner batter. My batter before cooking was a bit thinner than some cheesecakes I've made, but not significantly so. I was expecting it to be more runny based upon reviews that I had read. I did cook it for about 5 minutes longer because my oven runs a little cooler. The recommendation to wrap the pan in foil before submerging it in water was key--if you've never done a submerged waterbath and didn't know to wrap the pan, I can see where that would cause poor results. I took this to a St. Patrick's Day party and everyone went nuts--it was completely devoured! I'll be making this again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Street, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I have to say I've never heard of this, as cheesecake wasn't really common in Eire, but it came out good and I stuffed myself full without sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orangevale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I love chesse cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This is delicious! I threw my mom a birthday party and was looking for something a little different to make for dessert, and this seemed perfect. Every person at the party loved it. It is very rich, and very chocolatey, but to a true chocolate-lover, it is not too heavy. I followed the recipe exactly, and I will make it again, and again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I've made this cheesecake twice, both times with stellar results. The first time I didn't make any changes to the ingredients, and followed the instructions to the letter. It was exceedingly good. The texture was silky and crack free, the flavor was a mature chocolate with subtle stout undertones. (NOTE: When I was pouring the batter into my springform, I was nervous because it seemed too thin to set. It wasn't! Actually, I think that's why it was so silky smooth.) The second time I made the recipe, I added an extra 1/4 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder to the crust, and instead of Guinness I subbed Young's Double Chocolate Stout (a heady English Stout in a purple bottle/can that can be found in the Microbrew section of most liquor stores). What a winner! The extra cocoa powder and the Young's achieved the complex bittersweet flavor I had been looking for. This is a Five Star recipe with no changes, and (in my opinion)MORE than five with heavier stout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheInfamousNicoletta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Tasted great, yet it is more of a really thick mousse rather than a cheesecake. Hard to serve. I reccomend putting it in the freezer before serving to prevent it from falling apart. Very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I modified this recipe a little bit. I took the advice of the other reviewers. First of all I dont have a spring form pan, so I made my crust in a pan first. And taking into concideration the fact that people said the crust wouldnt cook properly with that amount of butter/cookie ratio I used slightly less butter then called for. I cooked the crust in the pan for about 15 min on 350. I also made the cheese cake filling without sour cream. This happened to be an accident. I had extra cheese cake filling left over after pouring the first pan, so I went ahead and made a second crust. The first cheesecake I put into the oven I did not put a pan of water underneath it. I cooked it for 60 min on 350. Then turned off the heat for 30 min with the door closed. And then 15 more min with the door open. Then I put in the refrigerator for 4 hours. The first cheesecake turned out dry and cracked on top, but the texture and taste turned out just fine. So the 2nd cake I put a pan of water underneath and cooked the same amount of time. This cake turned out very pretty and not cracked. As far as this cheese cake goes, the cooking time and texture turned out great. It wasnt soggy or undercooked or over-wet at all. I dont think its the best cheese cake I've ever had or made. It does have a wonderful hint of the beer flavor that makes it different. I think its a nice manly cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leanie
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
The only saving grace of this recipe is that we were all drunk by the time we ate it! Definitely more trouble than it's worth. Strange consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This was fantastic! I served it for a large group near St. Patrick's Day and got rave reviews. It is incredibly creamy with a delicious chocolate flavor. I did not change anything in the recipe. It did not look done when I was supposed to turn the oven off, but if you used the water bath, you'll be good to go! Fantastic! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mackenzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Made this for myself and my husband (a guiness fanatic) and we loved it. He is a big guiness drinker and he says he will never have his guiness another way. While I don't believe that, it is really good. This was my first time making a cheesecake and I made a couple of errors but it still turned out great. I forgot to put the pan of water in around it, it took an extra 20 min to cook but did turn out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States