Guinness® and Chocolate Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
First, let me say how annoying it is to me to read reviews that give a poor rating when the reviewer doesn't follow the recipe! I followed the recipe EXACTLY, and this is without a doubt one of the most heavenly chocolate cheesecakes I've ever made. Just remember, the crust calls for chocolate cookies crumbs--not OREO cookie crumbs. So the butter to crumb ratio is just fine. I used chocolate graham cookie crumbs. It is very important to not leave out the heavy cream when melting the chocolate. The cream makes the chocolate into a nice, thick ganache. Eliminating the cream would result in a much thinner batter. My batter before cooking was a bit thinner than some cheesecakes I've made, but not significantly so. I was expecting it to be more runny based upon reviews that I had read. I did cook it for about 5 minutes longer because my oven runs a little cooler. The recommendation to wrap the pan in foil before submerging it in water was key--if you've never done a submerged waterbath and didn't know to wrap the pan, I can see where that would cause poor results. I took this to a St. Patrick's Day party and everyone went nuts--it was completely devoured! I'll be making this again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Street, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
For the love of God & the Holy Mother, drink the Guinness while you're looking for a DIFFERENT recipe. Seriously. This one is horrible. I cook cheesecakes all the time. (DH loves cheesecake almost as much as Guinness.) So I should have trusted my instincts on this one & skipped the beer as the recipe was already too loose. The person even got the crust part wrong: cookie crusts need 2 cups crumbs, 2 TB butter (hello, the stuff in the middle is already fat & sweet & chocolate); graham cracker crusts need 1-1/2 cups crumbs, 1/4 cup butter, 1/4 cup sugar. Too much butter leaves cookie crusts tasting like lard & cracker crusts hard. It's not necessary to reinvent the wheel just because you're going to post your recipe. No idea what the 1/4 tsp cocoa was for...I've never seen 1/4 tsp of anything called for in a recipe. Why bother? The eggs, sour cream, cream cheese is all a normal cheesecake recipe...so, it's either the 3/4 cup beer puts the liquidity over the top or its the water bath cooking method. (I didn't immerse my springform by the way, a pan of water underneath in an oven would be sufficient in a recipe that NEEDS moisture, UNLIKE this one.) Finally, 90 minutes on 350, I take it out as the perimeter is starting to pull & crust, center looks iffy. (Left in the oven, turned off, door ajar for another hour.) & oh surprise, surprise crust is soggy, cake completely raw. I'm so mad at myself because I fell for all the hocus pocus thinking it might be interesting b
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JusCookAlready

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I've been a member for 2 years and this is my first review. Although I've enjoyed many, many other recipes I've gotten from Allrecipes the reason I'm reviewing this is to counteract some of the negative reviews! This is absolutely delicious made as the recipe is written! I agree with those who say people shouldn't change the recipe and then complain because it isn't to their liking! Make it as the recipe is written and then make changes IF necessary! Changes are not necessary for this recipe - I made it 2 weeks AS WRITTEN - it was to die for! I'm making it again this weekend AS WRITTEN! I use a spring form pan, oreo cookies which I take apart and discard the white stuff, Guinness beer, and place a pan of water on the shelf under the cheesecake. The only thing I do differently is to make a ganache from Ghirardelli 60% chocolate and heavy cream --and that is not a change, it's an addition! Please try this as written! And if you make it with all sorts of changes and don't like the result, keep your opinions to yourself! And I also take offense to the reviewer referring to the Holy Mother for a recipe review!! No wonder your recipe didn't turn out! Sorry to be so vocal but to criticize someone who is willing to share a recipe is beyond my comprehension. Life is short - let's be kind to each other!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsScarlett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I've made this cheesecake twice, both times with stellar results. The first time I didn't make any changes to the ingredients, and followed the instructions to the letter. It was exceedingly good. The texture was silky and crack free, the flavor was a mature chocolate with subtle stout undertones. (NOTE: When I was pouring the batter into my springform, I was nervous because it seemed too thin to set. It wasn't! Actually, I think that's why it was so silky smooth.) The second time I made the recipe, I added an extra 1/4 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder to the crust, and instead of Guinness I subbed Young's Double Chocolate Stout (a heady English Stout in a purple bottle/can that can be found in the Microbrew section of most liquor stores). What a winner! The extra cocoa powder and the Young's achieved the complex bittersweet flavor I had been looking for. This is a Five Star recipe with no changes, and (in my opinion)MORE than five with heavier stout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheInfamousNicoletta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Very tasty! With a family of beer drinkers, this was a hit. Suggestion to those who had a problem with "wet"-always use the best quality sour cream and cream cheese. Off brands can affect your results. Have eggs, cream cheese, butter and sour cream at room temperature before starting. Always drain excess moisture from your sour cream by placing in a fine sieve or yogurt strainer over a bowl while letting it warm . These little hints can make a huge difference in the end result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This recipe definitely has the POTENTIAL to be a 5 star recipe. I have made it twice just to see if I could make it work. One MAJOR item that was missed in the instructions is to wrap the bottom of your springform pan in foil before allowing the water to touch it. The first time I made this, the water seeped into the pan, causing the crust to get soggy. In addition to this, here are the modifications I made: I didn't add any sugar or cocoa to the crust, as I thought it was chocolaty enough with crushed oreos. I used exact measurements for everything else & used approx. a 1/3 semisweet chips and 2/3 giradelli bittersweet chips mixture. I baked about 60 minutes & turned off the oven with the door closed for about 15 minutes, then cracked the door for another 45 minutes. Once the cake is chilled in the refrigerator, it firms up nicely. So, don't be afraid to make it. It's incredibly rich tasting and a great St. Patrick's Day dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leah
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I came across this recipe while browsing for a fun new cheesecake recipe to make for Valentine's day. My husband loves Guinness, so I knew I had to try it. I'm not a huge fan of cheesecake, but we both LOVED it!! So delicious and not too difficult to make. I didn't have a springform pan, so I used a regular pan, and after the cheesecake cooled, I flipped it onto a piece of parchment paper, and then back to a regular plate. I made chocolate hearts instead of clovers (because of Valentine's day)- so the presentation was *almost* as wonderful as the taste. I admit, at first I thought it'd be weird to try beer in cheesecake, but I'm so glad I did!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I used crushed chocolate graham crackers, which I increased to 1 1/2 cups, and I used 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa for the crust, not 1/4 teaspoon. I used Ghiradelli 60% cocoa chocolate chips. I also cooked at 325 for about 70 min., then let sit in oven with the door cracked for another hour. Instead of a water bath, I just put a tray of water underneath the cheesecake. After all that, this was the most decadent chocolate cheesecake I have had for some time. It was picture perfect, and had such a wonderfully rich dark chocolate flavor, I was showered with compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I love Guinness so I was really excited about this recipe. I followed the directions exactly but after waiting forever for the cheesecake to be ready, it was completely raw inside. I am really upset that this recipe didn't work because I really wanted to try it, but I would have no idea how much longer to bake it for. I think it might have something to do with altitude? Who knows, I don't know what else might have went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I modified this recipe a little bit. I took the advice of the other reviewers. First of all I dont have a spring form pan, so I made my crust in a pan first. And taking into concideration the fact that people said the crust wouldnt cook properly with that amount of butter/cookie ratio I used slightly less butter then called for. I cooked the crust in the pan for about 15 min on 350. I also made the cheese cake filling without sour cream. This happened to be an accident. I had extra cheese cake filling left over after pouring the first pan, so I went ahead and made a second crust. The first cheesecake I put into the oven I did not put a pan of water underneath it. I cooked it for 60 min on 350. Then turned off the heat for 30 min with the door closed. And then 15 more min with the door open. Then I put in the refrigerator for 4 hours. The first cheesecake turned out dry and cracked on top, but the texture and taste turned out just fine. So the 2nd cake I put a pan of water underneath and cooked the same amount of time. This cake turned out very pretty and not cracked. As far as this cheese cake goes, the cooking time and texture turned out great. It wasnt soggy or undercooked or over-wet at all. I dont think its the best cheese cake I've ever had or made. It does have a wonderful hint of the beer flavor that makes it different. I think its a nice manly cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States