Guinness® and Chocolate Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
really enjoyed this but it is very rich could'nt eat a lot of it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khadz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkcaldy, Fife, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This cheesecake was incredibly rich and delicious. It was probably the best flavored cheesecake I've ever tried. I increased the cooktime to 60 mins. and used used the separate water pan method. I also let it chill for closer to 24 hours since I had to work.....this made the crust a little soggy. Overall, this recipe is well worth doing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LoriAnn
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This is the first cheesecake I have ever made and it came out spectacularly! I followed the directions exactly, other than placing a pan of water on the rack under the springform pan, rather than the pan in the water, for the water bath. Our friend is a huge Guinness fan and so I made this for his birthday. It was delicious and received rave reviews from everyone! I am not one who spends a lot of time in the kitchen and I impressed myself with this, thanks for an incredible recipe that made this everyday mom seem like a gourmet! I will def. make this again. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Was a big hit. I made it for my Dad's birthday and he LOVED it! Actually everyone but me loved it. I think it's b/c I really don't like the taste of Guinness. I'll make it again for everyone else again! Don't be worried about the "too much liquid". It turned out very similar to the Eggnog Cheesecake also on this site. Bon Chance! A
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Absolutely awesome! A great treat for my beer loving boyfriend. I used 1 1/2 cups of chocolate graham crackers instead of the 1 cup of chocolate cookies. Used a little more butter in the crust because of the additional crumbs. Also used 1/2 teaspoon of coco instead of 1/4 teaspoon. In the filling I used an additional teaspoon of vanilla (3 total). The end result was awesome! The beer is subtle but definitely present in the flavor. This allowed me to enjoy it as well as my boyfriend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Struckman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I have made this recipe twice now and it is the best dessert I've ever had! It sets up to be more mousse-like than a typical cheesecake and you must chill it at least 3 hours to set. I couldn't wait and cut into it early and was afraid that it would stay that soft but the next morning it was perfect. I was worried about that the first time as well because the center stayed jiggly even after turning off the oven and letting it cool. I use chocolate graham crackers for the crust and don't bother with the cocoa. I also cook it at 350 for 60 minutes then shut off the oven and leave it in for another 45 minutes. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This was my first spring-form cheesecake attempt so I was nervous to begin with. It's pretty straight forward but I will admit that the 'batter' appeared very runny. After cooking it 45 and then letting it sit 45 I put it in the fridge as the recipe said. After 4 hours, I cut a piece and noted that the center did not appear to be fully cooked. Needless to say I was really disappointed. But, and this is important I think, my fridge was full and I'm sure the air circulation wasn't ideal. I left it overnight and by the morning everything had firmed up well. My guests for St. Patrick's Day tried it and loved it (granted they'd had a few). I think it's an amazing recipe and can't wait to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Made this for a get-together last night. Followed recipe as is. Everyone loved it!! Will be making this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squashes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cody, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This cheesecake is awesome! I followed the recipe...used chocolate graham cracker crumbs instead of cookies. It got rave reviews from everyone in the office. It tasted like something you would find at cheescake factory....really....that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
First, let me say how annoying it is to me to read reviews that give a poor rating when the reviewer doesn't follow the recipe! I followed the recipe EXACTLY, and this is without a doubt one of the most heavenly chocolate cheesecakes I've ever made. Just remember, the crust calls for chocolate cookies crumbs--not OREO cookie crumbs. So the butter to crumb ratio is just fine. I used chocolate graham cookie crumbs. It is very important to not leave out the heavy cream when melting the chocolate. The cream makes the chocolate into a nice, thick ganache. Eliminating the cream would result in a much thinner batter. My batter before cooking was a bit thinner than some cheesecakes I've made, but not significantly so. I was expecting it to be more runny based upon reviews that I had read. I did cook it for about 5 minutes longer because my oven runs a little cooler. The recommendation to wrap the pan in foil before submerging it in water was key--if you've never done a submerged waterbath and didn't know to wrap the pan, I can see where that would cause poor results. I took this to a St. Patrick's Day party and everyone went nuts--it was completely devoured! I'll be making this again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Street, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States