Guinness® and Chocolate Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This is easily 5 stars and the people who rated 1 star almost scared me away from it! I used chocolate graham crackers for the "chocolate cookies" (What could that mean???) and I put a pan of water on the lower shelf. Water baths intimidate me. Also, I made this for my Guinness-loving husband and his anti-alcohol family. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I couldn't find my springform pan so baked this in 2 storebought chocolate cookie crusts, baked for 35 min, and they were a big hit! I put whipped cream on when I served it, hid a few cracks in the top since I wasn't able to use a waterbath to bake them in. Everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Weddle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watford City, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Great recipe-first cheesecake I have ever baked. I modified by utilizing Splenda mix instead of sugar and I did use Oreo cookies for crust and it still worked well. I did follow the cooking instructions (did not foil wrap the pan) and it did need more time. I put it into the oven for another 45 minutes-pan of water on rack beneath- and once it chilled it was absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I really wish I would have read the reviews before making this. I followed to a tee and have a big soupy mess. Or Mousse I guess. Won't bother with this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I did not care for this recipe! raw . Waste of money! Made for party and now must come up with something else. Wish I'd believed the previous reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Very tasty! With a family of beer drinkers, this was a hit. Suggestion to those who had a problem with "wet"-always use the best quality sour cream and cream cheese. Off brands can affect your results. Have eggs, cream cheese, butter and sour cream at room temperature before starting. Always drain excess moisture from your sour cream by placing in a fine sieve or yogurt strainer over a bowl while letting it warm . These little hints can make a huge difference in the end result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I cooked it in a water bath for longer than stated in the recipe. It turned out delicious! I also melted semi-sweeted choc with a TEENY bit of coconut oil (so it doesn't get crack-you-tooth-hard when it is refrigerated) and drizzled it over the top. SUPER YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Made it following the instructions almost perfectly, only one variation. I used a whole bottle of Guinness to add some more flavor to it, as my last one was lacking some. Looks great, tastes great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I've been a member for 2 years and this is my first review. Although I've enjoyed many, many other recipes I've gotten from Allrecipes the reason I'm reviewing this is to counteract some of the negative reviews! This is absolutely delicious made as the recipe is written! I agree with those who say people shouldn't change the recipe and then complain because it isn't to their liking! Make it as the recipe is written and then make changes IF necessary! Changes are not necessary for this recipe - I made it 2 weeks AS WRITTEN - it was to die for! I'm making it again this weekend AS WRITTEN! I use a spring form pan, oreo cookies which I take apart and discard the white stuff, Guinness beer, and place a pan of water on the shelf under the cheesecake. The only thing I do differently is to make a ganache from Ghirardelli 60% chocolate and heavy cream --and that is not a change, it's an addition! Please try this as written! And if you make it with all sorts of changes and don't like the result, keep your opinions to yourself! And I also take offense to the reviewer referring to the Holy Mother for a recipe review!! No wonder your recipe didn't turn out! Sorry to be so vocal but to criticize someone who is willing to share a recipe is beyond my comprehension. Life is short - let's be kind to each other!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsScarlett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canfield, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States