Guinness® and Chocolate Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
AMAZING!!! Was the perfect St. Patrick's Day treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VanDu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This is dangerously good! I followed the directions exactly however modified by useing reduced fat cream cheese and reduced fat sour cream. The texture was fantastic. I'd read that using Fat Free would make it soupy so this worked great and preserved the texture and taste! We had it for dessert at home on St. Patricks day and then brought it to work (to avoid the temptation of eating the rest of it) and it was gone in about 5 min with many compliments! My husband- who is a harsh cheescake critic- loved it as well! Making it again this weekend for a dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
the flavor was awesome, but the batter was waaay too liquidy. i thought maybe it was due to the fact that i had consumed a fair amount of guinness before i made it, but after looking over some other reviews, i feel a bit vindicated in my complaint. i used to cook 6 cheesecakes a week commercially and prolly make ten or so at home annually, so i feel VERY comfortable with making them, and this recipe was off. will tweak it and definitely make it again tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This cake was the hit of our St. Patty's day party. Came out just great. One friend said it should be my signature dish. I am making this recipe again for about the 6th time and every time we love it more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I followed the directions exactly but the cheesecake wasn't cooked through. When we cut it, it was runny. It was disappointing. It definitely needs longer cooking time. The batter tasted good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoEllen Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Winsted, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cmheff
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Please ignore the naysayers, follow the directions exactly, and enjoy! It was a huge hit at our very Irish St. Patrick's Day celebration and is certain to become a staple in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmheff
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This turned out fantastic for St. Patrick's day! Very moist and decadent. I followed the recipe exactly and had no trouble. This goes in my file and I will use in the future. I used Smidwich's Irish beer. As a non-beer drinker I could taste a faint "beer"? taste when the cheesecake had been allowed to sit out and reach room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by normal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
i love this cheesecake. I made it for st. patty's day and everyone loved it. I changed the recipe a little bit. I didnt use a spring pan. I used and 8x8 square baking dish and didnt do the bath method or open the oven for 45min. I just let it cook the hour and a half and checked it with a toothpick. Then i added a sour cream frosting to the top of the cake and let it cook an additional 10 minutes in the oven. then i finally did the chocolate decoration. It came out so good. Its so good with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I dont like to post anything negative, but would like to save anyone the dissapointment I had, especially if planning on serving this to guests. The flavor of the batter was lovely, but I was so upset when I made this. I made it exactly as the recipe stated. Cooked it in the bath, etc. It looked lovely and done when the time was up and I put it in the frig to chill. I went to serve it the next day and the middle was soup. My family and I were so disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Love this flavor. Used Young's Chocolate Stout. Had fun serving it with Irish Stew that had Guinness. (Didn't follow pan directions, so mine was messy, but we couldn't even wait to let it cool.) Used a ganache on top. YUM! I am a big fan and will make it again. I am also a big fan of Jesus, Mary, and Joseph, and the Holy Spirit. Now I'd better go exercise. Used full fat everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States