Guinness® and Chocolate Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Stephi
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
As many people seem to have made this very touchy recipe with good results, I'm sure the problem is just in the way it was written. I'm a pretty experienced cook and was very excited to learn of this water-bath method, certain it would produce an amazingly smooth cheesecake. But it would be very helpful for the submitter to offer hints as to how much water is needed to cook the cake adequately, and how much heat should be allowed to escape with the door slightly ajar. I followed this recipe exactly as written, along with the recommendation that I wrap the springform pan in foil. (As the latter was not even included in the original recipe, I suppose I was not as diligent as I should have been with this step--some water still managed to seep around.) As there are no hints given, I had to wait until the end of the 1 1/2 hour cooking time to know that I needed to make some adjustments. Please let us know what to watch for to make sure it turns out right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
The Perfect Cheesecake! I have been making this every St. Patrick's Day for years and it is always a huge hit! I follow the recipe EXACTLY and it comes out perfect every time. Cheesecake is a hard one to master. Take your time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I make this recipe for St. Patty's and so far there have been no complaints. For super fun festivities try going for white choc. clovers dyed with green food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This is fantastic! I love how the Guinness cuts the sweet of the chocolate. I made it and brought some to work in March, and now, in January co-workers are STILL talking about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuziHockey8

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by SHARONANNH
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I'm adding my vote to the attempt to make this a 5 star recipe. I followed the recipe with only two minor alterations. I used dark chocolate chips instead of semisweet as we love the taste. Also, based on previous reviews, I opted for the chocolate stout in lieu of Guinness (which I have used in a cheddar cheesecake - yum). I used Nabisco Famous Chocolate Wafers for the crust. Note-it only covers the bottom not the sides of the pan. Make sure to bring everything to room temp, take your time, and you'll be so thrilled with this cake. I used a water bath (with the pan wrapped in foil). There were a few minor cracks on one edge which I think I caused from a bit of over exuberance in pulling the oven shelf out to check the cake. I baked for 55 minutes (my oven can be wonky), let it sit for nearly 2 hours until I finally pulled it out, and fridged overnight. If you're a fan of chocolate cheesecake, you are going to love this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wexford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
It's imperative to follow the instructions exactly. Seal the pan tightly with foil before submerging in the water bath and make it a full day in advance. This cheesecake was so delicious, but definitely needed time to set. Will make again and again. For the crust, I tried putting fudge oreos in the food processor, didn't need to remove the filling, it worked perfectly. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I made this recipe for a "beer feast" that I went to, where all food items had to be made using beer. I am a baker and love desserts and beer and made this delicious cheesecake. When I was making it, it was runny but it ended up baking and having a lovely creamy and silky texture. The only change I made was to add a little more melted chocolate to the batter- you can never have too much, right? Delicious recipe! I am making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
We followed the directions to the letter, with the exception of using chocolate graham crackers for the crust instead of chocolate cookies, and it turned out fairly well. After about five hours in the fridge, we tried it and discovered that it was about the consistency of a mousse. However, after some time in the freezer, it became its true cheesecakey self and was absolutely delicious. The one thing that I would change is double the amount given for the crust to make it thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Barbarossa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Catonsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Arbutus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Longer prep time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
OMG AMAZING!!! Tasted better than Cheesecake Factory! I used a chocolate double stout as opposed to Guinness, it was fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayellpee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States