Guinness® Irish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
My husband made this for dinner, wanting to use up stew meat we had on hand. It turned out really good, 4 stars the first night, and even better the next night! He followed the recipe pretty closely, except we didn't have potatoes so we served over rice. He really liked it that way as the broth soaked into the rice. Thanks for sharing a comforting dish, we will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Made this with lean beef stew meat, I subbed 1/2 the potatoes with turnips, and also added 1 chopped leek after the onions browned. Also, in place of straight Cayenne, I used Penzey's Black & Red Spice (a blend of hot Cayenne and black pepper). Admittedly, I paired this recipe down sort of off the cuff, as we made it with 1.2# of meat - and I just eye balled all the rest of the ingredients. We used about 1 1/2 cans of Guinness (14.9 oz cans) and it filled our Lodge 10" Dutch Oven. We really liked this - and in hindsight, the directions - 1 thru 4, where you mix the tomato paste with water and simmer the onions, really is what helped make this so flavorful. Don't skip that step. That being said, next time I might add a whole variety of different root vegetables, and try other beers or maybe dark red wines for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
We went to Ireland a couple years ago and had Guiness stew for the first time. I love stew, but loved that even more, so I tried it here at home. I think the secret is to use beef broth for most of the liquid, and just one bottle of Guiness added for the last part of the cooking process, so it doesn't get too bitter. Also, they didn't have very many potatoes IN the stew. What they did there was have mashed potatoes on top of the stew, so I only put in one potato for thickening in the stew, and just make mashed potatoes for the top now and serve the stew with a scoop of mashed on top, which has been a big hit with the family. Everything else is about the same as this recipe, but I do mine in a crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jamie Hixson
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Tried this tonight..it turned out great!! Family seemed to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Hixson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Added a few things. Before dredging the beef I dipped it in an olive oil, red wine, Worcestershire mixture. Then in the flour, salt cayenne and pepper mixture ( needed way more than stated in the recipe so just remade each time needed) browned beef in the skillet, only added one FINELY chopped onion with five or six cloves of garlic ( my boyfriend hates onions) then cooked in a crock pot. Let sit on low for two hours. Then added Half a box of Campbell's chicken broth. One beef cube crushed, carrots and potatoes, a sprinkle of chili flakes. Then turned the crock pot to high. Cooked for two more hours stirring occasionally. Added canned peas, cooked for one more hour . Made tea biscuits for mopping up the delicious gravy. Will make this again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Delicious! Would make it again and add more veggies (turnips, parsnips, more carrots/celery)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Treacy Landy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Edward Symbouras
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I made this stew and substituted the beef with leg of Lamb it was so good I couldn't stop eating it also had soda bread and a Scotch on the rocks to wash it down
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edward Symbouras

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West New York, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Egypt, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
My husband came home from work saying he had guinness stew at a pub in Boston for lunch. I did a little digging and tried this recipe. OMG, so delicious.. I will never make plain old beef stew again. I did add some beef broth and extra guinness as suggested to make more broth. The potatoes and carrots took longer to cook than the recipe stated. Next time I may try cooking it in the dutch oven - in the oven - instead of on stove top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I think that this recipe needed some additions. I added extra Guinness because it lacked liquid. I also added extra spices due to the bland flavour. Not sure if I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
In order to really enjoy this, I did have to make some off-the-cuff modifications. First off, it sure takes a LOT more than the specified amount of flour and oil to brown that much meat. I used cubed London Broil and I doubled the batch. Additionally, as there wasn't much liquid specified, I added several cups of beef broth. It would have been horribly dry without that. I used a crock pot instead of a dutch oven which I don't own. Guinness wasn't available so I used Deschutes black butte porter - it has a stronger flavor and color than Guinness. I also don't peel potatoes - carpal tunnel syndrome is a royal pain. The way I did it turned out quite nicely. It's keeping well for leftovers though I wouldn't take a chance on freezing it as it would likely destroy the texture of the spuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States