Guinness® Corned Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
Although this recipe is wnderful, it is not for the kids!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
I tried this early to make sure it was a winner. Everyone loved it including the kids! The alcohol cooks out and the sugar keeps it from tasting bitter. We served it with a mixture of sour cream and grainy mustard on the side. Also I liked the fact that it is baked instead of boiled. Less fatty tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
Extremely flavorful and wonderful corned beef. I've never been one to generalize; and my children absolutely loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
I had never cooked corned beef before. My friend and I bought 2. We cooked one according to the package directions and one the Guinness way. There was absolutely no comparison. The one cooked to package directions is so tough and unappetizing. The Guinness corned beef is so tender and perfect it was gone with it's cabbage the same night. Thanks be to Diana and the Irish Rovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roses

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
Simple & delicious. Great meal to put into the oven and forget about. I didn't have any Guinness so I used a light beer, it was still wonderful. I also added red potatoes, carrots and wedged cabbage during the last hour. They turned out wonderfully and my family went back for seconds. I thought I would have enough meat left over for sandwiches, but the family ate it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
Delicious, the best corned beef dinner I have ever had ( and I don't really like corned beef).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
This was a big hit on St. Patrick's day. My inlaws are convinced that I am a great cook. Little did they know how easy this was to make. I added veggies and they were delicious too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
The alcohol bakes off, so this is child safe. What I did was to cook the cornbeef according to the recipe; 15 minutes before specified "done time" I started making the Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread (from this website) and bumped the temp/ up to 375*, to cook the bread. When the timer went off, I removed the cornbeef, put it on the bottom rack of oven and put in the Soda Bread. Cooked the bread according to directions and then took everything out of the oven. It all turned out perfect! I added cabbage only to the cornbeef and didn't even need to add more liquid as there was plenty of juice! A keeper as my hubby says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
What a disaster!!!I followed the recipe to a "T" and all I got was a tough, undercooked slab of meat!! I had friends and family waiting while I ran around transferring all the ingredients into my trusty electric pressure cooker, but even then the beef was still tough. The guiness only gave it an unappetizing brown color too! Don't make this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
I made this yesterday for St. Patrick's Day and it was so yummy. I had never made corned beef before, so I was a little worried. But it turned out perfect and couldn't have been easier. And the aroma is fantastic! Thanks Diana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Windsor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 846) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States