Guinness® Corned Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This was incredibly sweet! I would consider eliminating the brown sugar altogether or just adding 1T to the stout. The beef was amazingly tender though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Half Moon Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Incredible! Recipe is great as-is but, as many have mentioned, DO add the little packet of spices that comes with the brisket. I also used my Nesco oven/slow cooker at about 225 degrees for 7 hours and it was perfect! Since corned beef is still available a week after St. Patricks I'm gonna stock up and freeze it so I can make this in the summer. Also, Murphy's Irish Stout works just as well as Guinness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Very good for St. Patty's Day. I did this in the crockpot on high for 8 hours after cutting off the fat. I covered it with 2 cans of Guinness. I also found a great recipe for roasted veggies since I don't care for veggies in the crockpot:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomesticGoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Yum, yum and yum! This was outstanding. I cut off the fat and made the corned beef with two bottles of Guiness. This was the tastiest and moistest corned beef I've made. A definite "keeper" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This was quite good. I used almost 3 cans of guinness to cover the brisket and I think next time I might try a combo of half guinness & half beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newport, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
The corned beef was just ok, a little salty. I put the vegetables in the last hour of cooking and they were so bitter from the beer . I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
DELISH! Give it a shot! You'll be glad you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Very Good. I didn't add potatoes & carrots until halfway point. Added cabbage last hour. High for half time. Low for rest .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I used a point cut brisket and it took 2 bottles to cover the roast but it turned out very good. The brown sugar made it a little on the sweet side and I prefer the briney taste of traditional corned beef but it was very tender. Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This was excellent! I, too, like so many was leery about how exactly this combo would turn out, but it was absolutely delightful! Everyone enjoyed it-so much so my guests wanted the recipe! Will definitely make this my corned beef recipe of choice. My beef was a little over 4 lbs, and I actually cooked it 3.5 hours and could have probably cooked it a bit longer for an even better tenderness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 842) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States