Guinness® Corned Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
This is the best corn beef I've ever had. I used 1/2 cup of brown sugar, mixed with 2 bottles of Guinness and pickling spice. Placed everything in the slow cooker for 10 hours on low. Absolutely amazing, I was a little concerned about the meat having a sweet flavor, I'm really glad I didn't omit it all together. Adding the pickling spice is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This recipe is great. Instead of putting the corned beef on a rack, I slice 2 vidella onions & put in the bottom of a castiron dutch oven. Rub the roast with the brown sugar & pour whatever beer I have on hand around the roast. cover & cook as the recipe says, until tender. Sometimes it takes longer than 2 1/2 hours, but well worth the wait. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crisfield, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I've made this several times and it's not only delicious and attractive (usually a rich reddish color instead of the pale brown of some traditional corned beefs), it's pretty fool-proof, as well. You can play pretty loose with the ingredient amounts, and as long as you cook it long enough, it's tender corned beef goodness. When I make this, I generally rub the spice mix from the corned beef and enough brown sugar to cover the top onto the meat, then pour a bottle of Guinness over/around it, fill the bottle with water, and dump that in. You may have to add extra water, depending on how much of the meat is uncovered. If you want a stronger beer taste, feel free to put two bottles in, instead. Once I made this for a meeting and had to cook it the night before. Even though it was a bit tough the next day, by cooking it for another hour or so at a high temp (and adding more beer, because I lost a bunch of liquid in transport), it still turned out amazing and got raves...hence the "fool-proof." I usually make this in a Nesco with the temp set at 250 - 300F for several hours (at least 3-4). If you get antsy towards the end (like I usually do) and the beef still seems tough, crank the temp up a bit to speed up cooking. Just make sure to flip the meat every half hour or so to make sure each side soaks up the delicious liquid. Overall, this is an awesome way to make corned beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Great. New favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I also made this in the crock pot with Guiness and it came out very well. I put it on low for about 8 hours and it was perfect. Can't say whether or not the brown sugar made a difference or not? Next time I will probably just skip the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Made this for St. Patrick's Day and everyone loved it. I covered completely with Guinness and water and added the seasoning packet and cooked for 8 hours on low in a crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Mind you.... I am not a corned beef lover. But,this is the best corned beef recipe I've ever had! It was simple and easy. The meat was moist and flavorful. I will definatley make this again, and pass the recipe on to my friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Long Island Girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Wonderful! I usually make this in a crock pot, but it creates such a nice toasty surface this way. I sautee some cabbage in the drippings and dress with black pepper. I also add some ground mustard and garlic powder to the brown sugar which really makes it per my family. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Love this! Corned beef and Guinness are the perfect combo! I did keep in the oven for about 4 hours versus the 2 1/2. Mine was only a 3 pounder. I bought a second one while they were on sale. Think I'll try this one in the crock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivor, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 845) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States