Guinness® Corned Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I have made this recipe for 11 years now and, even though I always make it the same way, my family insists it gets better every year. The only change I make is that I cook it for about 5 hours in the slow cooker instead of the oven and as others have said, I add the season packet that comes with the beef. This is a definate keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Ostenson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Union City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zgnehm
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Excellent idea for a recipe. However, I've made a slight change and it came out great. I used the seasoning packet along with the brown sugar, put it in a slow cooker (made sure it was completely covered in Guinness) on low for 7-8 hours. Added some vegetables (cabbage, potatoes, and carrots) when it had 2-3 hours left and turned it from low to high. I also added some habanero mustard for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Just tried this recipe after always being disappointed with the slow cooker/boiled type of corn beef. All I can say is WOW!!!! Soooo much better! The flavor is phenomenal! I added in carrots and onions during the last hour and they were perfect wonderful flavor, in fact next time I'll add more onions they came out soo good! The corned beef wasn't quite as tender as in the crock pot but I think it's because I had to take it out a tad early, I'm sure the longer you let it cook the more tender it will get. Ditch your slow cooker recipes, this is by far the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
For whatever reason I have had the hardest time making corned beef. I've made it with water, I've made it with apple juice. I've made it on the stove, I've made it in the crock pot. This was the first time it came out AMAZING! I used the crock pot (I have a large one), 4lb corned beef, 5 bottles of Guiness, and a little water so that it was submerged. I will be making it this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWAITT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Flavor was good. I coked as directed...corned beef was tough and veggies were still not cooked sitting in the beer for 1 1/2 hour....did not find the veggies cooked straight in the Guiness very flavorful. Will attempt again with cooking directly in the Guiness and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni Cushing Pennino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This is a very good recipe for corned beef. It should be noted to those who have reviewed, it was not meant for the crock-pot. It cooks differently. You will get an enhanced flavor if you follow the directions. I typically do my veggies stove top, as to not disturb the brisket. Well done Shameless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Varied this buy cooking it in a crock pot, my family all said this is by far the best corned beef they have ever had and I have to agree. Started out frozen so I add some additional cooking time. 12 hours and it was falling apart. Saving this recipe and definitely putting this in the file for future use
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerry

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA
Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Fantastic! I've made this 3 years in a row and it seems like I can't make enough if it. I make it in the crock pot, cover the beef with guiness, drink one myself for good measure (hey, I'm Irish) and let it cook all day in low. RIDICULOUSLY good. Hands down best corned beef ever. Try it, it will make you very popular on Paddy's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Biggest problem is oven cooking time was waaaaay off (which I accounted for so we didn't eat too late). 2.55 lbs of meat was in for a total of 4 hours (not 2 & 1/2) and potatoes and carrots were still crunchy after 2+ hours. I will definitely use a crock pot next and let it simmer all day. Guiness/brown sugar along with spice packet added a nice sweet flavor to the salty meat. Overall, not a bad first try but there's a lot I'll do different next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Wow loved this recipe thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 11-20 (of 847) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States