Guinness® Corned Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Had always boiled or used a crockpot in the past, but we thought this recipe was terrific, and will not change a thing. Roasting always makes a more flavorful meat than boiling or crock pot. The same with the vegetables you might want to add toward the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This was so bitter I couldn't even eat it! I'm going back to regular ol' corned beef and cabbage with the included spice packet...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
As corned beef recipes go, this one is better than most, but the Guinness leaves a bitter aftertaste. I'm not a huge corned beef or Guinness fan, though. My husband is a fan of both, and he loved this. So I'll be making it once a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Blanchard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
So simple yet amazingly delicious, my family just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
My entire family are corned beef fanatics, but found this one just okay. We don't drink beer and the Guinness was just too overpowering. I was looking for a way other than boiling to make corned beef and found two other recipes that we may like. This one, however, will be removed from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I'm only rating this a 3 because my corned beef was tough. The baking time needs to increase by at least an hour. My brisket wasn't quite 3 lbs and it needed to cook much longer. The flavor was good, but it doesn't do any good if you have to chew and chew and chew...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NightmareCook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Amazing. Make sure all meat is submerged, or rotate it because exposed parts will get bitter. Do add a bit of water and beef stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I'm giving this two stars because I was able to eat the meat, but nothing else. Granted everything was cooked right, it just all tasted like Guinness...except the meat for the most part. I'd strongly suggest only making this dish if you actually LIKE the taste of Guinness because no matter what you do, the vegetables, especially the potatoes will soak up the beer flavor. If I try this again I will only be using a beef broth or something similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This recipes tastes very good. Did it on the stove top. Made it 2x already for St. Patrick's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GEISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brentwood, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This is the only way I make corned beef now. I throw quartered potatoes into the crock pot with the meat, and they come out so flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 853) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States