Guinness® Corned Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
In my whole marriage I had never cooked corned beef for whatever reason. This was so easy and so delicious. Using the tips in all the reviews, we added the potatoes and carrots initially then an hour before serving added the cabbage. I am not particularly fond of cabbage but I loved the almost "sweet" flavor that all the vegetables had and the meat was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMRISNER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gibson City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Make sure you like Guinness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by creativesense

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Wish I could give this more stars it was so good. I also wish I had bought a bigger corned beef as there wasn't much leftover! The secret is to COVER the corned beef with the beer, it took 2 cans of beer and I added about 1/2 cup water. I also kept it in the oven for an extra hour and added potatoes and carrots to it for the last hour. This was not overly sweet at all, the few leftovers I did have were very good. This is our only way of cooking corned beef now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was such a great thing to do on St. Patrick's day, I simmered it for 8 hours in my crock pot and by the end of it, everyone was quite hungry and the house still smells delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsy Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Awesome !!! I was a first time corned beef maker and this recipe made me a winner ! It was too warm outside to light the oven, so I used my slow cooker - low for six hours. I did add the seasoning package that comes with the beef. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I made this late on St. Patrick's Day. I used 2 bottles of Guiness Black Lager beer. I used a 4 lb corned beef baked at 350 degrees. I didn't know if it was cooked enough after 2 and 3/4 hours but I took it out of the oven and served it along with boiled potatoes and buttered cabbage & noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I personally loved this, but my family was adamant: they loved the meat, but hated the vegetables. They said the beer caused the veggies to taste too strong. (Guiness is a stout beer and has a strong bitter taste due to the hops.... a definite aquired taste) Maybe better to cook the meat and vegetables separately....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Absolutely wonderful!!! The best corned beef I've ever had. I did use Murphy's stout instead and I also used the spice pack that came with the package. I also cooked it in the slow cooker for seven hours, turning it every 45 minutes. Everyone raved about how delicious it was!! It was just really tastey!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moonsphinx11
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
My husband said this was the best corned beef he's ever had and he would like to have this on a regular basis! I used a cast iron dutch oven and used 2 cans of Guinness to almost completely cover the meat. I cooked it for two hours (flipping it once mid way through) then added carrots, potatoes, cabbage, and onions to the pot and cooked an additional hour. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonsphinx11

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Super easy!! I did it in the slow cooker on high for 8 hours- adding veggies in the last 2 hours and cabbage the last 30 minutes. I added a little water to make sure I covered the meat all the way and turned the meat halfway through the cooking time. I also trimmed the fat off the meat before cooking. Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastchester, New York, USA
Living In: Bedford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 845) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States