Guinness® Corned Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Very Good. I didn't add potatoes & carrots until halfway point. Added cabbage last hour. High for half time. Low for rest .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I used a point cut brisket and it took 2 bottles to cover the roast but it turned out very good. The brown sugar made it a little on the sweet side and I prefer the briney taste of traditional corned beef but it was very tender. Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This was excellent! I, too, like so many was leery about how exactly this combo would turn out, but it was absolutely delightful! Everyone enjoyed it-so much so my guests wanted the recipe! Will definitely make this my corned beef recipe of choice. My beef was a little over 4 lbs, and I actually cooked it 3.5 hours and could have probably cooked it a bit longer for an even better tenderness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Very delicious!! I didn't change anything. I made this w/Diane's Colcannon. My husband and boys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Good but we found it too sweet. if I use this recipe again, will reduce sugar to a quarter of what was suggested. Cooked in slow cooker on low for 4 hours then added veg and an hour later added the cabbage for the last hour of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Excellent...I have read a gazillion of the reviews and for the most part followed the recipe to the letter and my family just oved it. In case your having bad results...this is what I did...I used a 13x9x2 pan, rinsed two 4 lb corned beefs and dried with papertowels, rubbed both briskets and both sides generously with brown sugar and browned both sides in a skillet with some olive oil, laid them sideways in the pan to fit pretty tight, used about 16-18 oz of a 22 oz bottle of Guiness Stout (covered 2/3 of the meat), Sealed tight with heavy foil and baked at 300 degrees Fahrenheit (untouched) for 3 1/2 hours and it was perfect! Served with Diane's Colcannon recipe located on this website too...but used half and half instead of milk. Will never boil meat again...braise my friend...awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Yummy! Followed recipe exactly but cooked it for 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Excellent recipe! This was my first time cooking corned beef. Everyone enjoyed it! The beer turned into a delish marinade for the vegetables (onions, carrots, potatoes. Unfortunatly, the time of cooking was incorrect. I had to add an extra 90 minutes. I cooked it in the oven in a roasting pan on a rack. Also, the recipe never stated trimming the fat off which would be good to add and also which side up when cooking. I will try this recipe again now that I know a few things; it'll be even better!!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I will never prepare my corned beef any other way! This was simply the best. I only used half the brown sugar, added the seasoning packet that came with the beef, and a pint of my husband's homebrewed stout. Cooked it in my covered dutch oven for two hours, then added carrots and red potatoes for one more hour, then added the cabbage for another 30 min. Everything was done perfectly, and tasted great. Only wish I had doubled everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was so tasty. Everyone who ate went back for seconds and thirds. It takes longer to cook in a slow cooker so allot about 6+ hours for that. We added veggies in about 30-40 minutes before it was done. The cabbage was particularly delish. Can't wait to eat the left overs, and next time I will buy a larger cut of meat so there's more leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 845) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States