Guinness® Corned Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I cooked it in my slow cooker; maybe that was the problem- I didn't follow directions. Mine turned out bitter- like the taste of cooked Guinness. I had added potatoes/cabbage about an hour before it was finished, as other reviewers had suggested, and boy, did they pick up the bitter flavor I am talking about. Maybe at some point I will try it again, and this time follow the directions as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I'm learning through trial and error that tough cuts of meat must be cooked for as long as it takes to get tender. Use the time given as a guideline and at the end test to see if it pulls apart easily. This recipe is delicious if you cook it long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This is the most amazing corned beef ever! I follow the recipe to the letter and always enjoy the end result. I have always used a crock pot and cooked on high for about 8 hrs., so don't know how the oven version turns out, but the slow cooker version is definitely a keeper! I have added potatoes and carrots and the brown sugar/beer glaze makes them very tasty. Thanks Shameless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shasty
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
My family loves this recipe. It is so moist and juicy. I do make this in the crock pot for about 5 hrs on low. I typically add 1/2 head of cabbage that is cut in quarters and separated about 1 hr before it's done cooking, otherwise you'll just have cabbage mush. Another thing is that the packaging companies seem to think one size fits all when it comes to the seasoning packet. So we looked at the seasoning packet and supplemented with what we had on hand to make sure it was flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca, Missouri, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
DELICIOUS! BEST CORNED BEEF I'VE HAD EVER GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
This was sooo amazingly good. I looked at the comments on this recipe, and read about the person who said to fully submerge the meat in the guinness or else it will taste bitter. I used 2 bottles (they were all out of the cans) of guinness and it still was just barely sticking out. I was really nervous but I didn't want to add more beer. It all worked out though because when I added my vegetables later it all sunk into the beer and the end result....pure tender magic! I love corned beef and this by far raised the bar. I will definitely be making this again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Very delicious. I added red potatoes, cabbage, and carrots for the last hour. Maybe next time I will try it in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I really did not care for this at all. I could taste the Guiness and it wasn't what I was used to with corned beef. Next year will try something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillydee
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I have made this recipe many times over the past 7 yrs since I first found it in AR. It is the best corned beef I have ever had. The brown sugar and beer mix with the saltiness of the meat while it cooks, and makes the best tasting broth ever. The coorned beef seems alot less salty tasting as well. I will never make corned beef any other way. The only change I make is I slow cook mine in my crock pot for about 8-10 hrs, remove the meat to rest so it can be sliced..I turn the CP up to high and add red potatoes, onion, baby carrots and cook for 30 min, then add cabbage and cook another 15-20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillydee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Whom ever thought that this recipe was tender must have teeth like a horse. I followed the simple recipe to the tee. It was the toughest piece of meat that can be. I spent $20 on a four pound Sy Ginsberg corned beef. It's boil from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 853) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Corned Beef Brisket

Perfect corned beef brisket is super simple to make at home.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States