Guinness® Corned Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Flavor was good. I coked as directed...corned beef was tough and veggies were still not cooked sitting in the beer for 1 1/2 hour....did not find the veggies cooked straight in the Guiness very flavorful. Will attempt again with cooking directly in the Guiness and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni Pennino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This is a very good recipe for corned beef. It should be noted to those who have reviewed, it was not meant for the crock-pot. It cooks differently. You will get an enhanced flavor if you follow the directions. I typically do my veggies stove top, as to not disturb the brisket. Well done Shameless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Varied this buy cooking it in a crock pot, my family all said this is by far the best corned beef they have ever had and I have to agree. Started out frozen so I add some additional cooking time. 12 hours and it was falling apart. Saving this recipe and definitely putting this in the file for future use
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerry

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA
Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Fantastic! I've made this 3 years in a row and it seems like I can't make enough if it. I make it in the crock pot, cover the beef with guiness, drink one myself for good measure (hey, I'm Irish) and let it cook all day in low. RIDICULOUSLY good. Hands down best corned beef ever. Try it, it will make you very popular on Paddy's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Biggest problem is oven cooking time was waaaaay off (which I accounted for so we didn't eat too late). 2.55 lbs of meat was in for a total of 4 hours (not 2 & 1/2) and potatoes and carrots were still crunchy after 2+ hours. I will definitely use a crock pot next and let it simmer all day. Guiness/brown sugar along with spice packet added a nice sweet flavor to the salty meat. Overall, not a bad first try but there's a lot I'll do different next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Wow loved this recipe thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
looked at all the great reviews and yes this recipe was great. I did it in the oven like the directions said and was a little skeptical since ever other rating said crockpot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Ive been using this recipe for the past 3 years now... my family refuses to go back to the traditional boiled version! I cook mine in a slow cooker on low for 8-10hrs. I like to add the seasoning packet as well as cabbage, red potatoes & carrots. Thanx for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This corn beef is so great. Won't make it any other way from now on. Removing the fat really helped in deleting some calorie fat contend and did not effect the favor. I cooked the carrots and potatoes separate, did like the beer taste on veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I know you cannot please all of the people all of the time. This was my first time making corned beef and I was thoroughly disappointed. I put in in crock pot and followed directions of others, making sure the meat was covered by the beer. I also added the seasoning packet plus added garlic, peppercorns, and bay leaves. The flavor,to me, was a bitter Guinness taste and the meat was not tender. I even got the Flat cut meat as suggested and had it in crock pot for over 8 hours. It was still on the tough side. I also used the Regular Guinness Draught as I saw that the Extra Stout did not work well. Overall, this was not a good recipe choice for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 853) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States