Guinness® Corned Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Excellent. Of all the recipes for corned beef I've tried, this one was the best and simplest. The only changes I made was for the veggies. Instead of adding them in the oven at the end, I sauteed them on top of the stove in butter and added the pan drippings for extra flavor. Superb! This recipe will be a staple for future Saint Patties Day celebrations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
This was *the best* corned beef I have ever made for St. Patrick's Day. Even my 6- and 7-year olds, who usually don't care for corned beef, gobbled this up. The recipe ingredients are simple. The corned beef came out so wonderfully tender - falling apart tender. I did it in a roasting pan in the oven at 300 (as original recipe calls for) and not in a crock pot (as others have done). I cooked it for 4 hours - longer than the recipe called for - just because I was out running kids to and from school and activities. Since my roaster is large, I used two 12-oz bottles of Guinness (always on hand in our house!) and then filled those empties with water and poured that in as well. As others have said, ***cook the beef IN the beer*** and make sure you are using a covered roasting pan (or cover it with foil if your roaster doesn't have a lid). I added my vegetables 1 hour before the end of cooking time and they came out nice and tender - even the whole potatoes. I did have to remove some of the cooking liquid once I added the vegetables, but that did not affect either the beef or the vegetables. Also, I forgot to rinse and pat the beef dry before rubbing with the brown sugar, but that didn't affect the beef, either. Thanks, Shameless Morrow, for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I just made this today, St Patty's day. It got so many high reviews, that I was looking forward to a good corned beef. I've been heating it on high for 4 hrs now. I just checked on the meat, and it's ok, just very bland, as well as the sauce. I added peppercorn, bay leaves, and garlic, and it's still bland. The Guinness doesn't add much either. Very disappointed. Will doctor it up to salvage the meat. Update*** I added some Star Anise, and it turned out much much better, 4 stars quality. I cooked it for another 3 hours on high, and it's definitely a keeper now. (added caramelized onions, potatoes, cabbage & carrots).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmella Paguia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Being that my bday is on St. Patrick's day and I have made traditional corned beef in the past, not exceptionally well, but o.k. I decided this sounded delicious and had to try it! Read all reviews and went with the original recipe as posted with a few of my own additions based on reviews and what I know as a cook. I used a 3 lb. point cut corned beef (meant to buy a flat cut, but this turned out great regardless), rubbed both sides with couple tablespoons of brown sugar, then added to my dutch oven for extra flavor, 1 cut up onion, 4 cloves smashed garlic, 4 bay leaves, pickling spice that came with package, and few tablespoons of assorted whole peppercorns. placed meat on top of this, added 3 bottles (12oz) guiness draught beer & 1 1/2 c. water which what was needed to barely cover meat. Placed lid on dutch oven and put in 300 oven for 5 hours. During the last hour I removed the lid from pot & added 2 quartered russet potatoes, cabbage wedges and 5 carrots. This was amazingly tender!! I probably could have taken it out after 3.5 - 4 hours. The meat was extremely moist and practically falling apart, but I LOVED IT. I did not remove the fat from the meat as I felt it would dissolve and only add flavor to the liquid and I'm glad I did. The veggies were cooked to perfection. I will say the flavor of the liquid is somewhat sweet and the peppercorns added a little heat, not overpowering at all and frankly I like the sweet/heat combination. I would make this again & again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pammy
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
OMG!!!! So easy and so good!!! My whole family loved it!!! The only thing was that I added the vegetables as the same time as the meat and they were cooked to perfection!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I get a corned beef round at my local butcher. (They make their own corned beef) I have made my corned beef ONLY this way since trying this recipe. It is the best recipe ever! On the side I serve Colcannon. Then some roasted carrots. The family cannot believe the fantastic flavor. I think using a round is the ticket. Worth every penny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I use 2 cans of guinness and about a cup of water. turns out perfect every time. I use the spice packet that it comes with and nothing else. I make a gravy out of broth and serve mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I'm sorry that I can't rate the actual cooking method and time, because like the others I put it in the crock pot all day. It was tender and delicious, and my kids loved it and keep asking me for it. I put it in crock pot and put the brown sugar on top. Then I sprinkle the spice packet contents over the top and pour the Guinness over it all. I added veggies (potatoes and cabbage, primarily) closer to the end. We almost never have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLANAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I follow this recipe exactly. This is the only way I make my corned beef. To die for. Mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
never make agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 852) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States