Guinness® Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This turned out wonderful, but with one major modification. After following the instructions exactly, the consistency was too liquid. After adding about 3/4 a cup more flour than called for, the consistency was much better. My husband pronounced the final product "Amazing"! Even my two-year-old son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IrishMountainGirl
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Very good bread with a nice flavour. I like the darker breads and this one is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishMountainGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This bread was great! I only made one small change...I was out of brown sugar so I used an equal amount of raw sugar. We were very happy with the flavor and level of moisture. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Very good bread. I followed the recipe exactly as shown. Watch your baking time as I found mine got a little too brown even though I set my timer for a little under the recommended baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I had some leftover Guinness from a party. Since I'm not a big beer drinker, this was a good way to get rid of it. The bread has a good flavor to it - I think it would be good with some butter or cream cheese. Also, seems like a good winter bread for soup or chili. Will definitely make again - I still have four bottles of beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I was a little disappointed. I have a very easy beer bread that is much tastier and much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This recipe is wonderful as is. No one in my family is even a huge Guinness fan, but everyone loved it. Followed the recipe exactly, although next time I might start checking the bread about 10 minutes early on the second cooking time or rotate the dish because the back of the loaf was just starting to burn. Fit great in a 9x9 Pyrex dish. This went really well with an Irish stew. It tastes great with or without honey butter, go with your personal preference on that one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Easy to make and a big hit with the crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Was so perfect on St. Pat's day with steak and salad. I was very worried that I was over cooking it, so I did take it out of the oven about 10 minutes early. The bread was extremely moist and flavorful. I don't believe anyone but me knew there was beer in the batter. Good flavor, not overpowering at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paojava

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by heather s
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
goes great with the Special Irish beef stew!! was great at our st. paddy day party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather s

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States