Guinness® Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Steve Salt
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Very Very good. Just sweet enough to entice individuals who "fear" the darker breads. And of course, i subbed in Smithwick's instead of Guinness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve Salt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I have had really good beer bread...but this tops them all and what's even better is that this recipe was so easy I had no problem, whatsoever, following it. I did use quick-cooking steel cut Irish oats in mine and I really like the rustic texture they gave this bread. This bread is sweet, it's savory...altogether delicious...thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Just tried my first piece after pulling it out of the often. Warm, with a bit of butter, just great tasting bread. I made a double batch, split it 50/50 in two 5x9 loaf pans. Fit perfect. Only thing I did outside of the recipe was about 1/2-3/4 teaspoon of extra vanilla extract per batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Try loaf pan next time. Oven Temp seems high at 425 then 400 try 350?. Seemed done after 1/2 hr on outside but inside wasn't entirely done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
So easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This was so easy and so delicious. I made it to go with broccoli cheese soup once and served it with honey butter. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was a good bread, a little bitter for me. I served it to the guys at work with honey butter, and it didn't last long. I will make again without using the extra port beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKYBIRDSNPLANES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morro Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This bread was SO easy to make and really quite delicious. Goes great with soup/stew/chowder, especially on chilly New England fall day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This was super! ....moist, flavorful, hearty, and relatively healthy. First of all, I did not use Guinness. I had a Smithwick's on hand so I had to make the best of it. I did not have buttermilk so I used 1 Tbsp of lemon juice mixed with 1c milk and let it sit for 5 min. I used splenda brown sugar mix, light butter, and baked it in an 8x6 pan for ten minutes less than stated. It was perfect and just may have to replace my go-to beer bread recipe from this site (whole wheat beer bread). Loved this this one had oats. Also, I wasn't expecting it to be as sweet as it was and may decrease the sugar next time. Although my sweet tooth can't complain. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Blue Bell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Loved it and will make again - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States