Guinness® Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This bread is so wonderful and simple to whip together! I used 3 Tablespoons of light butter, reduced-fat buttermilk, and 1/4 cup brown sugar. Also, I had Moose Drool beer on hand, and it tastes and smells divine! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eshusker
Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Mmm, this was crispy and delicious. It was a little bitterer than I'd expected, but that's my own fault. Everyone who tried it loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
THIS is the recipe I have been looking for since our first trip to Ireland two years ago...we went back again this past week, and I was determined to find THE RECIPE. Thank you, Dolly!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Starkville, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I didn't have wheat flour, so I used all-purpose. I also substituted light vanilla soy milk and vinegar for the buttermilk. I used Irish steel cut oats and Smart Sense spread instead of butter. I cooked it at 425 F for 15 minutes, then 400 F for 15 minutes, then let it sit in the oven. Despite all these changes, it turned out very well. I think it would have been fine cooking as the recipe states, but I like how it came out--crispy on the outside and tender and chewy on the inside. The flavors were a unique treat for my tongue, and I found myself chewing slowly and really focusing on what I was tasting. I will definitely make this again! Very easy, tasty, and pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Delicious! Made it exactly as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
great bread,made ths last year & forgot to review it,would have made it again this year,but I found a different recipe to try. This one is A PLUS !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
AWESOME, I can cook anything, but cant bake to save my life. Had some friends over and made corned beef, and just had to attempt this great bread. Followed the recipe exactly but used quick oats instead of rolled. It came out great. It was surprising moist and light. Most irish breads can get a bit dense. Will def. make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Meriden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This was decent but not over the top. I loved the texture of the bread and the ease of the recipe, but I wasn't overwhelmed with the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rowlett, Texas, USA
Living In: Grapevine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I, too, used light margarine and the milk/lemon juice in lieu of buttermilk. I mixed all the ingredients, put it in the pan in the fridge for a few hours while I ran errands and then came home, topped with oats and baked for an hour without letting it cool (the kids were getting hungry!). Sooo good! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States