Guinness® Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Amazing! I followed everything to the letter except that I accidentally added an entire stick of butter and used a loaf pan. Still awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Holy crud this is AWESOME!!! Super easy to make, I thought it was too runny and wouldn't come out, but it was perfect, moist inside with a thick yummy crust. I made a honey cinnamon butter to go on it and everyone RAVED over it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SisterSarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Really good! Instead of melted butter, I cut 1/2 cup cold butter into the flour mixture and baked in a loaf pan 35 minutes at 375, then 40 minutes at 325. Turned oven off and let set with oven door open another 35 minutes. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Athens, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Interesting bread to say the least. I can say, that it almost smelled like banana bread...not sure why but it did. My family just loved it. I thought it was fine. Very easy to make. I can see adding some fruit along with this the next time I make it. My family has already asked I do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Overall not a bad recipe... mine rose nicely and had a good flavor.. i am not sure if it is worth using a bottle of Guinness for... its about $2 a bottle... but the simple basic beer bread is also pretty good... this bread did have a very unique and great flavor though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Ok thought it was kind of generic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Parus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
My family loved this bread, I folllow the recipe exactly and it was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saugus, California, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This turned out as an excellent beer loaf. A bit different than expected as to the whole wheat only flour. Not hard or clumped together at all, almost cake like and very moist. I liked the dark texture. It went well with our corned beef dinner. The only difference I did, as others suggested, was to use 1/4 cup brown sugar. This yeilded a hint of sweetness, not overpowering the bread taste. Baked in an older USA made pyrex pie pan for the round effect. The odor while cooking filled the house, hard to wait for the meal and bread! This is my new and only dark bear bread recipe. Thank you Dolly, my Irish ancestors would say 'Good on ya fer this one."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This bread came as a surprise to me because I really don't care for Guinness beer! So I bought one bottle and went for it based on the statements by two of my Allrecipes friends. I'm glad I did! This is a really delicious breakfast bread. I baked mine in a 9x5 loaf pan as the recipe calls for with the exception of baking it only about 12 minutes after turning down the heat to 400. We did as the author suggested and slathered it in butter and honey. It was a perfect complement to our morning coffee. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Great recipe. All of my dinner guests enjoyed this. The only change I made was to bake it in a loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States