Guinean Peanut Sauce with Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Great comfort food! Good combination of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This was only ok. I had planned on making something else when I came across this recipe. I had baked the squash completely. I was unsure about how much the 2" cube should have been cooked anyway. I didn't have natural peanut butter and I used regular peanut butter. That could have made it a little on the sweet side. I combined the garlic, salt, and peanut butter sauce all together. I think I liked it more than my boyfriend did. Thanx for posting this interesting/unique recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
A creamy, subtle-flavored dish. DO NOT USE REGULAR PEANUT BUTTER- the sugar will ruin it! The tomato and squash provide naturally sweet undertones, while the garlic, onion and bay leaf infuse the sauce with a savory flavor. I was intrigued by this recipe, and thankfully all 10 of us enjoyed it =) Not to tamper with the "traditional flavor... but I enjoyed this with hot sauce, and imagine that a minced jalapeno sauteed with the onions, or perhaps some red pepper flakes, could add a lot to this dish. Oh, and some chopped cilantro would be excellent too. Thanks for sharing, Anne-Marie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaSunshine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I searched this site for just the ingredients I happened to have on hand, and I made Guinean Peanut Sauce with Butternut Squash with folete sauce. (Yes, I always have frozen okra on hand.) It was easy and fast, and it tastes like home. I love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
What a delicious, filling, and healthy dish! Truly is pure comfort food. I served this over brown rice with greens sauteed with olive oil, sliced mushrooms, and garlic with a splash of soy sauce and rice vinegar. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Delicious! Reminded me of ground nut stew. Toss some tabasco or sriracha on to give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This was really good! Instead of boiling the butternut squash which makes you lose a lot of the vitamins in the water, I put it on a cookie sheet in the oven with a little olive oil mixed in at 475 degrees for 20-25 minutes. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly. I served it with quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
If I could rate this recipe any lower, I would have. I followed it to the letter and used the correct type of peanut butter, and the result was a bland, sloppy mess. Increasing the amount of salt and pepper did nothing to improve the blandness; it just covered the taste by making the swill too salty and peppery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Loved this kicked up a bit with thai chili sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States