Guinataan Hito (Catfish) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ezwheele
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This was so bland and oily, even after adding cayenne and black pepper. Sorry, didn't care for it. If you try it, I would definitely try adding jalapenos or something. I didn't, because of the kids. Also, maybe cutting back on the coconut milk and using half flavorful broth instead to cut back the oiliness? The sauce was somewhat good on the rice. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
pretty good, easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Oh my this was yummy... I was looking for something different and love catfish but have only ever had it fried. I made this one but made it spicy how I like by adding to jalapenos. Seeds, ribs, and all. It was even great the next day... I had ran out of rice and used drained ramen noodles ..... that was even better than with the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Livingdedgurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Took all the advice: added jalapenos, garlic, peppers and ginger. But the coconut milk made all the difference. Served over rice noodles. We really enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gigerbopper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This recipe is awesome. I added minced ginger and seeded & finely chopped jalepeno peppers. When served, added some avocado slices to the plate and it was fantastic. This is so much like one of my favorite Thai dishes I used to order. Fast and easy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Another 5 stars because my family really enjoyed how the catfish was cooked in this recipe. The only change I made was instead of using cooking oil I used butter. Just a personnel preference over cooking oil for this recipe. Not having used coconut milk for much cooking this was a delightfully light, aromatic and delicious fish recipe. I paired with a Trader Joe's Harvest Grains and frozen peas. Yum! This one is in the recipe box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Yummy and Easy!!!! Would be great with Jasmine Rice. I added fresh grated ginger and about 1 Tablespoon brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I loved it! Of course I had to add some additional seasonings (garlic, cayenne pepper and lemon pepper) but it was good... also added some cilantro and squeezed some lemon as well..yummm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States